Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Sounds great but I make chili everyone raves about with about half the ingredients listed here, but hey, the more the merrier I guess! And in a recipe like this one teaspoon of white sugar won't do a thing. Two tablespoons of brown sugar is more like it. I would also cut the salt by about half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Hoffman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
No cayenne, 1/2 can black beans instead of 1/2 can spicy chili beans, 2 cups beef broth instead of bullion cubes, 3/4 yellow onion and 2 teaspoons dark cocoa powder. In crock pot on high for 30 minutes then 3 1/2 hours on low. Serve with chopped onion and shredded cheddar. Cut recipe in half to fit in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Oh my! This was AMAZING! Apart from the Spicy Chili Beans (used 4 regular and added half a can of chopped jalapenos instead), I followed the recipe exactly and it was DELICIOUS! Even better the next day. It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimsmac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Amazing!! Followed directions exactly and heated in crock pot the next day for our neighborhood block party - it was a HUGE success! The whole pot was finished and I got so many compliments! Definitely making again next year! Prep time did take a lot longer than stated though - but it was well worth it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
We won 1st place in the Chili Cookoff this weekend! Followed the recipes and suggestions of other reviewers. This recipe is a keeper! Tanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I put this on a slow 8-hour crock. Deep notes of chocolate mole, texas smokehouse, and home garden vivacity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel Krestinski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
There's good chili and there's great chili - this rates among the best - you have to try it using roasted hatch chilies - followed all the spices but with only Italian sausage chunks -the spices were perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This is the BEST chili recipe out there! The number of ingredients might steer some people away, but all of them bring the flavors together. I've been making this for years and can't agree more with other reviewers who suggest refrigerating overnight and then heating the next day. The flavors really meld together. I've modified the recipe just a bit and wanted to share - I substitute ground beef with cube steak, use 2-3 slices of real bacon and sauté all of the vegetables in the leftover grease. I also tone down the spices of the beans to medium and mild and add spice at the end. I also add a little dark chocolate in there, which is a trick my mom always did growing up! Can't say enough good things about this recipe - enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
excellent and full of yummy ingredients...add sour cream at the end to the bowls if you want to be indulgent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
awesome,aweome really love it, it had a nice spicy kick to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 3,440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States