Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Croc Pot!!!! Wow what a great recipe, I made a few adjustments(ground turkey, bush chili beans,etc.)but this is overall is a 5 star chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This was a huge hit at work. The only change I made was adding fresh sliced mushrooms. By far the best chili I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
My husband and I attempted this recipe about 3 years ago and have been making it every time we make chili since. At first I thought the ingredient list of all the different spices was a little intimidating but I have it down now and rarely have to look at the recipe. We have modified it slightly for our taste and I make it less spicy and dont use italian sausage. I had more veggies, and sometimes use turkey instead of ground beef. We have been praised many times on how good our chili is, so THANKS for the awesome awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Altoona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Decided last minute to try this and I'm so glad I did! The italian sausage adds such a great flavor. I made it as written (but halved the recipe) Served with cornbread. Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Awesome recipe! I adapted to our likes/dislikes and serving size by adding only one can of beans (we prefer a meatier chili), using diced tomatoes with green chiles, increasing the beer to one cup, two beef bullion cubes, a little extra bacon, only 1 lb of beef and 1 lb of sausage and two large cans of green chiles. Didn't add the hot sauce, Worcestershire sauce, green bell pepper or paprika. But kept all the other spices and ingredients the same serving. Cooked it all over the stove to blend the flavors, then tossed in the slow cooker for 8 hours on low. Served with corn bread, sour cream and Mexican cheese blend. This is a keeper! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I can't recall leaving a recipe comment ever, but I had to for this chili. It is truly amazing chili! I've made several versions of chili lately searching for the "right" one. This just might be it. I can't imagine chili tasting any better than this. Thank you so much for sharing. It will be my secret weapon at future potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Pretty good chili. I have made it twice now. My husband really enjoys it. I didn't have any tobasco the second time so I used sriracha. I found that to be better. Also I add a tablespoon or so of powdered cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I love this Chilli! They're maybe some Chilli snobs that are nay sayers but hey I live in Texas n this Chilli always places in office Chilli cook offs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I would make this again for sure. My family loved it. But the only thing I would be a little careful about next time is the amount of chili powder, cayenne, and the hot sauce. It was a little too spicy for us and i would cut down the amount of chili powder and cayenne to half and taste it. If you need more you can always add before putting it to cook for 2 hours. all in all, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scampbell
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
MMMMMMM.....I was a little taken aback by the list of ingredients, but, really wasn't that bad at all.. This was a huge hit! I served it in sour dough bread bowls, topped with cheese and corn chips...Followed recipe to a tee cept omitted the celery. I almost cut back on the spices cuz I thought maybe it would be to spicy, but very glad I didn't. Defiantly even better the next day!! Thank You for posting! This is now my go-to chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 3,334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States