Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Fantastic! I switched out some of the beans-only used 1can of red kidney, 1can of black beans, 1 can of red kidney in a garlic, pepper sauce(couldn't find "spicy chili beans") I also used hot Italian sausage. Everything else the same. My husband says its the best chili! Even better than his moms. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This is the best Chili! We make it in the winter to warm us up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
My family and I love this recipe! No changes needed. It is wonderful! I usually use venison instead of beef just because I have so much extra. Either way it is great! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by finkin66
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I didn't Chang a thing. Very easy. And by far the best chili iv ever had. But I did change the name to wolverine chili. GO BLUE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Yes on December 19th on the day of the Playoff between 49ers and the Seahawks. I did change a little. Took out the beer and the hot pepper and saute the onions, peppers and celery first. Cook in a slow cooker and it was a big hit. thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muar, Johor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Very good chili! I used antelope meat and it was awesome! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msbmore
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I've tried another chili recipe from this site in the past and wasn't a fan of it. This chili tastes almost exactly like the one my grandmother used to make. This recipe makes a lot, my crockpot couldn't hold it all. I did make a few changes according to user reviews, and I made two pots, one spicy (crockpot), one mild (stovetop), omitting celery, instead of all chili beans I used 2 cans of dark kidney beans, used bacon instead of bacon bits, and a bottle of beer (Sam Adams Boston Lager), brown sugar instead of white; sauteed onions and green peppers first. Like my chili meaty so used 3 lbs. of ground beef chuck. Refrigerated overnight and served the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Talk about the best Chilli I've ever tasted. I pretty much followed the directions but instead of can beans (which I'm not fond of) I soaked mine overnight and placed it in a crock pot. I also only had a pinch of chilli powder and used a jalapeño pepper but with all of the other peppers, still tasted great. Fresh basil made a difference too instead of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I made this chili on Christmas Eve for my family. It was a huge hit! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of I only used one of the green chilis I purchased as I was a bit concerned it may end up being too spicy. It was perfect and I'm sure it would've been fine with the extra chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I've read the critical reviews and can only suggest that their disappointment is a matter of comparing apples and oranges. This is the kind of chili I grew up with in Canada ... only better! Hopefully one day I'll make it to Texas and have a chance to try the Texan version of chili! I have my own style of chili that I've always made, but my partner found this one and insisted on making it instead. He uses one less can of beans and cuts out the hot pepper and hot spice. We've served it four New Year's Day parties in a row, and each time the crock pot is scraped down to the last bean. We also made it last year for a family party and the teenaged girls who attended told their grandmother it was so good she had to get it from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 3,377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States