Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Won my company chili cook off with this recipe as the base, but made some very important changes. Additions while making 2x the recipe: 1. Added 1-2 lbs of cubed steak. Fully browned with garlic powder and black pepper. 2. Added 1 full pouch of real bacon bits 3. Added 4 Habeneros + 10 small thai chili peppers + 4 serrano (remember this is for 2x the recipe) peppers blended in a blender with some chili broth and added to the pot. 4. After boiling for 1.5 hrs, transfer all the goodness into a large crock pot (As I transfer every other ladle full has broth since this recipe is too watery with celery and diced tomato juice). Cook on low over night and everything else in the pot goes into tupperwares to freeze. I was actually left with a lot of chili liquid since I like chunky chili and redid the proportion of liquid to meat and beans. The heat will mellow out greatly by noon the next day and turns from front heat (tongue) to back heat (throat). 5. Serve with cheese, sour cream, and chives with frito scoops on the side. Use stought beer like Guiness and serve next day to allow peppers to mellow. My goal is to make chunky style chili and with above changes it is excellent chunky steak chili with decent back heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
What a great recipe! It was fun to make and of course the longer it cooks it gets better. (especially the next day) I followed the directions to the t and wouldn't make any adjustments for great chili. It will be fun to try other meats such as deer or turkey. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandbird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is really, really good! I had everything but the bacon bits but it didn't matter. I made it in the crockpot the day before and I think it's better the 2 nd day. Only used 2 cans of beans too. All the ingredients may seem like a little too much work/ too expensive but it's so worth it. Best chili I've ever made! Makes a big batch so if you're making it for a small family, you'll be eating leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kimberly, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Made this exactly except I did not have the 4th can of spicy beans and I did not drain my chili beans in mild sauce, it was so good and not too spicy. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I'm not a big chili fan, but my daughter made this a couple of weeks ago and I loved it! Maybe all the vegetables give it that something extra that appeals to me??? I'm making it today for superbowl and can't wait to eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Wonderful. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Love chili, but don't always have the time to do it right. We found this recipe and love it! Have a couple friends who say they don't really like chili, but always come back for seconds of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I made this for our volunteer firemen's ice dive weekend rescue drill. Several men wanted to know who made it. It was a big hit, no leftovers. Recipe requested by one of the wives. I used a scant half teaspoon of cayenne and 2 small cans of chopped green chili peppers and followed everything else as written. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
BEST Chili I ever tasted my life! All my family and Friends loved it! Just can't stop eat it! Please try this recipi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Love this chili! Make it for my husband and his family every year when they go hunting. It freezes well and they can thaw it out and reheat it around the campfire. I'm always told it's one of the best dinners of the week. Occasionally when using this recipe, I make modifications with the meat and use venison. I also throw in a handful of frozen corn on hand if I have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 3,374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States