Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This is seriously the best chili recipe that exist. I have tried to make chili many times but never once got the reaction from people that I have had from this version. You will not be disappointed. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Dynamic, flavorful chili! Spicy without the "burn your lips off" factor. I simplified a little by getting pre-diced celery, onion and tri-colored bell mix from my market. I also used a 28 oz. Can of Ro-tel diced tomatoes with green chili (Mild) and two 14 oz cans of diced tomatoes with lime and cilantro. I also used only 1 can of mild chili beans and 1 can spicy chili beans (because we tend to like meaty instead of beany chili). Following the advice of others, I cooked 5 strips of bacon until crispy, then cooked veggies in that. Transferred them to a bowl while I browned the ground beef and sausage. Then I mixed the crumbled bacon, veggies and meat together in my crock pot. I cooked it on low for 2:30 hours, then let it rest until cool, refrigerates until morning, then cooked on low in crock pot for 4 more hours....wow and yum! DH says it's perfect. Will be using for a chili "cook off" party next week, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary A. Milan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Just won a chili cook-off at our church picnic. This recipe is a winner! There were 16 entries total. The recipe is great as is, you can modify the spices to taste. Excellent recipe, thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I have made this chile 3 times and am more impressed with it after I create new batches. The one I made today included a few habanero peppers, 2 without seeds and 1 with seeds. I saw some reviews that referred to this recipe as a vegetable soup type chile but for me, all of the peppers and onions pretty much dissolved into the chile after cooking it in a crockpot on low heat for 8 hours. Whether or not this was the intention of the recipe, it turns out to be a great chile when all of the flavors meld together! I left out the celery, subbed steak for sausage, used 1 can of chile & 1 can of red kidney chile beans, and used a full can of beer. Other than that, everything was pretty much true to the recipe. I really haven't tried other chile recipes as this one is sooooo good! Yeah, it's a lot of ingredients but adds to the fun of cooking and doesn't add that much prep time. I strongly recommend that you try this and tweak the recipe to your desire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Made the chili exactly according to the recipe. Didn't change a thing. Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Made for guests, everyone loved and complimented flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Stayed true to the recipe. Best so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pubfry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Chilli turned out fantastic. I substituted a scotch bonnet pepper for the green chilli pepper but otherwise kept the recipe exact. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Collins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
By far the best chilly I've ever made!! My wife had a chili feed and work and she defiantly had the favorite! I only wish I would get the credit for making it! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Best chili I have had! Omitted the peppers cause I have picky kids and it was still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 3,685) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States