Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
We won 1st place in the Chili Cookoff this weekend! Followed the recipes and suggestions of other reviewers. This recipe is a keeper! Tanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I put this on a slow 8-hour crock. Deep notes of chocolate mole, texas smokehouse, and home garden vivacity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel Krestinski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
There's good chili and there's great chili - this rates among the best - you have to try it using roasted hatch chilies - followed all the spices but with only Italian sausage chunks -the spices were perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This is the BEST chili recipe out there! The number of ingredients might steer some people away, but all of them bring the flavors together. I've been making this for years and can't agree more with other reviewers who suggest refrigerating overnight and then heating the next day. The flavors really meld together. I've modified the recipe just a bit and wanted to share - I substitute ground beef with cube steak, use 2-3 slices of real bacon and sauté all of the vegetables in the leftover grease. I also tone down the spices of the beans to medium and mild and add spice at the end. I also add a little dark chocolate in there, which is a trick my mom always did growing up! Can't say enough good things about this recipe - enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
excellent and full of yummy ingredients...add sour cream at the end to the bowls if you want to be indulgent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
awesome,aweome really love it, it had a nice spicy kick to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I didn't care for this recipe, FAR too many ingredients as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwollenCranium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Best chili I've ever had! Didn't follow exactly but close enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Great recipe! I followed some of the adjustments recommended by other reviewers, and I got tons of compliments on it tonight. Here they are: 1 lb ground beef, 1 lb ground hot pork Italian sausage, and 1 lb sweet Italian turkey sausage. I did 2 cans of mild chili beans instead of 3, and one hot. I omitted the Tabasco sauce since I added the spicy sausage, and did one seeded jalapeño instead of the green chilies. I crumbled in 4 strips of bacon instead of bacon bits, and cooked the veggies in the bacon grease before adding them to the meat. Oh, and I used brown sugar instead of white. This was a huge hit, most people had second, if not third helpings. I will definitely make it again, and recommend making this recipe. It's kind of a long process with a lot of ingredients, but it's totally worth it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Tried it several times. Won chili cookoff at work with it. The only chili I will ever prepare. Having it tonite and leftovers for Cowboys game tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leopol
Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 3,533) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States