Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Love this chili! Make it for my husband and his family every year when they go hunting. It freezes well and they can thaw it out and reheat it around the campfire. I'm always told it's one of the best dinners of the week. Occasionally when using this recipe, I make modifications with the meat and use venison. I also throw in a handful of frozen corn on hand if I have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I loved it...my friends inhaled it....and I make it for every super bowl....the best thing I like is...I switch it up....sometimes I use hot & sweet sausage and ground beef...others whatever is in the house and even cubed beef...it always is great. Best chili recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khimko1015

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
After reading reviews, I decided to make this recipe, although I was concerned about some of the reviews that called this bland. HARDLY! The flavor is complex and delicious! Because I was worried about the bland factor, I made only a few small changes - 1)I used a combination of chipotle chili powder, ancho chili powder and regular chili powder. 2) I used one chili pepper and one jalapeno pepper. 3)Used a whole bottle of beer. 4) Used one can of chili beans in mild sauce and one in hot sauce and didn't add any more (my family's not too big on beans). Amazing!! And worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I make this quite often and follow the recipe to a T. It is always a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I'm sorry but I really did not like this chili. It has way too many ingredients, and is very expensive, and did not taste good in my opinion. It did not have a normal chili taste, and I added everything exactly as described, except cooked in a large crockpot overnight after browning the meats separately on the stove. I actually prefer my own chili or my mother's. Maybe it is a regional preference, but I won't make this again. I was very disappointed, had to add a packet of chili seasoning from the store just to make edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
There's a reason this has 5 stars with over 3000 reviews. Worth every bit of effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tigrisandeuphrates
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I made this for the residents of the group home I work at tonight. The guys all loved it. I made a few changes, I used more garlic (3 cloves and about 1tbsp powder), used one red, yellow, and orange bell pepper, I added green onions to the mix and also garnished with them (with shredded cheddar and sour cream of course!). Due to lack of preparation, I did not use any paprika or white sugar (substituted brown). I also upped the amount of Worcestershire sauce, beef bouillon and cayenne pepper (we like things spicy around here!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I make it practically the same way EXCEPT I take out the sausage and add Chorizo for a better flavor and kick. I also add some stew meat to the ground beef which makes this a meaty bowl of chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherryallen143

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Have made this recipe several times. It's my go to chili for large gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Delicious! But 1/4 cup of chili powder HA I used a tablespoon and it was plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 3,336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States