Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Wow. That's pretty much all I have to say. It takes a long time and requires a lot of chopping and a lot of spices, but oh so worth it in the end. My husband, a born-and-bred Texan, was in love with this chili. It made the house smell amazing while it cooked. I cut out half of the cayenne and removed the ribs and seeds from the 2 peppers before cooking, and I liked the spice level, but hubby said it was a bit too mild. Just adjust the spiciness to your own taste; the flavor is all there with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This recipe has a lot of ingredients and seemed like a little more work than other chili recipes, but it turned out to be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Added green chilli instead of diced pepper, simmered in crock pot all day. Fabulous recipe! Served with a dab of plain Greek yogurt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
My husband cannot get enough of this chili. When I make it he refuses to let me throw away any left overs, even if they have been in the fridge for a week. The sausage really gives it the extra flavor. This is a staple in my house. I make it at least once a month. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Fantastic! Didn't change much other than substituting pop for beer and adding some oregano and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Made this Chili for a potluck at work- It was a hit! I added some chuck roast cubed along with the ground beef... Thank you for a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
My first attempt at Chili and it was a success. I would like to taste some more heat. I can't tolerate extremely spicy food but this was not spicy at all. I would make this again but try to work on spicing it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I made this chili to compete in a cook-off and I won 1st place. Granted I was the only contestant, but everyone raved about how good it was! I am only giving it 4 stars because there were a couple of draw backs: First, it took a really long time to prep. Second, you NEED to use an extra large stew pot. Trust me on this one, you will regret it otherwise. Third, it cost me over $25 to make because of the cut of meat so if you are looking to save some cash use 75-80% lean ground beef instead. Overall, a great chili. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
NUMMY! But will use more bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
second year that I've entered and won first place in a chili cook off! Use 2 lbs cubed chuck steak in place of ground chuck. I added brown sugar in place of the white and added it to my taste. Also used 3 different beans....dark Red Kidney, Light Kidney, and black beans. Did everything else the same. Used light beer cause it's all I had and turned out well. This is for sure an award winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 3,370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States