Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I love this chili been making it for 4 years now still love it but I never thought it was spicy actually enough as matter of fact first time I made it I found it a little sweet side so I add a habanero and a jalapeño works out great for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
LOVE this chili. I make this just about every saturday for sunday lunch. I cannot stress enough how important it is to make it the day before and slow cook the day after. I substitute hickory salt for the salt and 1/2 teaspoon liquid smoke for the bacon bits. Gives it a nice bbq kind of finish. Favorite chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Made this for super bowl. Fantastic! I used a poblano pepper and an Anaheim pepper in the sauté. I also used 2 cans chili beans in zesty sauce and 1 can chili beans in mild sauce, all partially drained. Let it simmer 3 hours the day before then reheated on game day .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Phenomenal, I cut the beans in half and it was just as great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Served this at Super Bowl this year and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I made this recipe as posted. This was a very easy chili to make. I wasn't wowed by the flavor. Seemed just run of the mill chili to me. It wasn't bad at all by any means, just not very memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I left out hot peppers and hot sauce. But still really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Won my company chili cook off with this recipe as the base, but made some very important changes. Additions while making 2x the recipe: 1. Added 1-2 lbs of cubed steak. Fully browned with garlic powder and black pepper. 2. Added 1 full pouch of real bacon bits 3. Added 4 Habeneros + 10 small thai chili peppers + 4 serrano (remember this is for 2x the recipe) peppers blended in a blender with some chili broth and added to the pot. 4. After boiling for 1.5 hrs, transfer all the goodness into a large crock pot (As I transfer every other ladle full has broth since this recipe is too watery with celery and diced tomato juice). Cook on low over night and everything else in the pot goes into tupperwares to freeze. I was actually left with a lot of chili liquid since I like chunky chili and redid the proportion of liquid to meat and beans. The heat will mellow out greatly by noon the next day and turns from front heat (tongue) to back heat (throat). 5. Serve with cheese, sour cream, and chives with frito scoops on the side. Use stought beer like Guiness and serve next day to allow peppers to mellow. My goal is to make chunky style chili and with above changes it is excellent chunky steak chili with decent back heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
What a great recipe! It was fun to make and of course the longer it cooks it gets better. (especially the next day) I followed the directions to the t and wouldn't make any adjustments for great chili. It will be fun to try other meats such as deer or turkey. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandbird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is really, really good! I had everything but the bacon bits but it didn't matter. I made it in the crockpot the day before and I think it's better the 2 nd day. Only used 2 cans of beans too. All the ingredients may seem like a little too much work/ too expensive but it's so worth it. Best chili I've ever made! Makes a big batch so if you're making it for a small family, you'll be eating leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kimberly, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 3,332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States