Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I made this chili to compete in a cook-off and I won 1st place. Granted I was the only contestant, but everyone raved about how good it was! I am only giving it 4 stars because there were a couple of draw backs: First, it took a really long time to prep. Second, you NEED to use an extra large stew pot. Trust me on this one, you will regret it otherwise. Third, it cost me over $25 to make because of the cut of meat so if you are looking to save some cash use 75-80% lean ground beef instead. Overall, a great chili. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
NUMMY! But will use more bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
second year that I've entered and won first place in a chili cook off! Use 2 lbs cubed chuck steak in place of ground chuck. I added brown sugar in place of the white and added it to my taste. Also used 3 different beans....dark Red Kidney, Light Kidney, and black beans. Did everything else the same. Used light beer cause it's all I had and turned out well. This is for sure an award winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Best chili recipe I've tried so far. I really like the flavor added from the beer-- we used a full cup of Yeungling amber lager. There are many ingredients, but getting a pre-chopped bell pepper blend and using a can of green chiles removed some of the chopping work for me. I sauteed my peppers and onions after cooking the meat, and I omitted the celery. After browning the meat and vegetables, everything cooked in my crockpot for a few hours, went into the fridge overnight, then heated in the crockpot again the next day until it was time for dinner. I worried it would be too spicy based on some reviews, but it wasn't at all. I might even add more cayenne or Tobasco next time. My husband has never loved the chili I've made before, but he and our dinner guest both thought this batch was great. This will be my standard chili recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Made this for hunting camp & the guys loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mklonari
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Excellent start to a Sunday morning! Tailored to my liking with a couple additional secret ingredients. Hint...good cure for the hair of the dog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Amazing chili. To be honest, I never do measure the spices, just eyeball it. But it always works out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Loved it overall but very spicy. Next time I think I will modify some of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Loved this...used Guinness beer and 1 pound hot sausage and 1/2 pound sweet sausage with 1.5lb lean ground beef...added 3 habenero peppers, couple pablano peppers...it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This is the best chili EVER! I make this all the time my family love it and my friends from Texas ask for the recipe.... The only I do different is this... no Italian sausage (because I don't like it)and I use smoked paprika!!! Awesome! Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 3,332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States