Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by John;14_6
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I just made this chili for the second time. The first time was 1 month ago and I followed the recipe exactly. It was great! And everyone loved it. Tonight I'm bringing the HEAT. 4 Jalepenos, 4 Thai chili peppers and a can of Rotel tomatoes. I also used chili meat instead of normal ground beef, it should give a little more texture. It's simmering now. I hope I didn't mess up a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Barely got it all mixed together in the pot and the flavor is already amazing. 2 hours later and the whole family gobbles it up before I can even sit down. Better than any other chili I've had before...except for Mom's of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Herheim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: De Forest, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Daunting ingredient list but not too much prep time. Followed mostly as stated, added some other spices, used beef stock vs bouillon. Touch too salty but could be my fault. Will try again. Thanks to OP and others for contributing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Great recipe! Made this for a football game party and everyone loved it. Making it again this weekend for a superbowl party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This recipe is great! I love that the heat sneaks up on you. I changed just a few things. I added a pound of Italian sweet sausage in addition to the two pounds of beef. Instead of red bell pepper I used roasted red peppers out of the jar. I used a can of diced green chilies instead of fresh. I used 2 (15oz.) cans Rotel and one 28oz. can of diced tomatoes. I fried my own bacon and used probably 2 tablespoons chopped. I sautéed all the vegetables in bacon fat before throwing them in the pot. I didn't measure the amount of salt I used but it was more than called for in the recipe. I salted as I went along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Amazing recipe! I made a kosher version with a few differences and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Great chili! The only alteration I made was I really spiced it up by adding a few habanero peppers, extra jalapenos and cayenne pepper. The ingredient list doesn't show jalapenos on it, but it is on the video. The chili peppers can be really spicy or mild depending on which peppers you choose. Although jalapeno's are chili peppers, on the video it showed 1 jalapeno and 2 chili peppers. It really needs at least 1 jalapeno. Served it with shredded cheddar cheese, sour cream, sliced green onions and Frito's. Big hit! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I love this Chili! I add a can of diced fire roasted green chilis. And I don't put the spicy chilis in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lorri
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I took this chili to a reception last night and it was a HIT! I used a bottle of Oatmeal Stout beer (too early in the day to drink the rest if it, so I just used the whole bottle!), 1 pound of ground chuck & 3 pounds of cubed pork tenderloin, because that's what I had on hand. The recipe was neither too salty or too spicy -it wag just right for our family & friends. Thanks for a new go-to chili recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This is a fantastic chili recipe. The only changes I made were omitting the Italian sausage and the bacon bits. I served this for a pre-Christmas dinner and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 3,650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States