Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
It's really good but it didn't win, place or show in my work Chili Cook-off :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I've made this about 3 times now, always doing things slightly different (because I always forget something or don't have time for everything), but it's always been crazy delicious! SUPER flavorful with just the right amount of spice. My husband LOVES it with sour cream, cheese, and tortilla chips. I'm making it again tonight for a friend! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Cudnik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Best recipe for chili! Easy to make and sadly- I never have leftovers! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Husband's favorite recipe.Next day is always better,so plan ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco&Bailey's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Great recipe, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Korinek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I made this two days in a row and both days I got a 10 star rating.. I omitted the hot peppers ,bacon and the beer cause I didn't have any. I cooked the beef and sausage then the veges on the stove top and then just added everything to the slow cooker.6 hours later. AWSOME.everyone I served this to said it was the best chili they ever had.thanks so much, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This is NOT spicy! It barely had a kick...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
More like 4.5 stars, as I've got pretty high chili standards. We make and eat a lot of chili, and have made this several times. This is one of our favorites...especially when we have time to make it. It has really good, complex flavor and like all chili, tastes even better the 2nd day after the flavors have a chance to meld together. It does take some time to make, with all the chopping and prep, but have fun and enjoy the process! I Made this along with Wazzu Tailgate Chili, and we kept flip-flopping as to which one we preferred. This will stay in the rotation. I admit this next statement isn't a news flash, but really, the quality/brand of the ingredients makes a huge difference as to the flavor. Chili Powder is a BIG one. I use Morton's and Bassett and Penzy's mostly. I get Italian sausage from an Italian market where it's made fresh. Canned tomatoes are really affect final outcome and I've found Muir Glen Organic and Hunt's have the best flavor (to our taste buds). If you like big chunks, the MG is the way to go. For people who prefer a smoother, less chunky texture, Hunt's petite diced is a good option. "Heat", is a personal thing, so adjust accordingly. I can't to a lot of heat, so I cut the proportions of the hot ingredients accordingly and omitted the hot sauce, otherwise, I could tell from the recipe, it would've been too hot for me. Really a great chili, beans and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary_o

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Made this for a chili competition I was hosting and it won!! I finally won! My changes: I left out the sausage and bacon (some guests couldn't eat pork) and used 3lbs ground beef, I used a full bottle of Rickards Red beer, used only 2 cans red kidney beans, and I omitted the chili peppers. I had 2 separate people tell me it tasted like Wendy's chili. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 3,683) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States