Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Lots of ingredients yes, but hands down the best chili I've made and eaten. I gave it to a friend who needed a recipe for a chili contest and she won second place. Makes a big batch, so perfect for freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This is the best chili recipe I have made. Seriously deep, rich, delicious flavor. I did not have sausage and I made my own beans, instead of canned, but it turned out great and it's my new chilir recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Five stars all the way. This is the best chili I've ever made. I doubled almost everything cause I made a 12qt pot full. Everyone one of my friends loved this chili at a football party. I will be making this chili in the future for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Yummy and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I have been making chili for over 10 years now so I am not sure what convinced me to try this recipe; maybe the fact that it had 3,000 reviews. I was not happy with the flavor. It had a tangy after flavor that was odd. Maybe it was the beer I used, but I did not like it. Usually I try to do chili without fattening extras like cheese, but this one definitely needed something to cover the flavor. I think I will stick to my old recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I just made this for a potluck yesterday for a friend's birthday. It was a total hit. There wasn't a drop left and everyone kept telling me it was the best chili they had ever had. Also getting requests to share the recipe. I did not put in the tomato paste, I used a poblano chili, and hot Italian sausage. Definitely a "keeper" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
By FAR, the best Chili I've ever tasted. ridiculously good and the leftovers taste even better. I suggest that you make the full recipe because you'll absolutely love it and wish you had leftovers. The only substitute I made was to use ground turkey instead of chuck to lower the fat content. When you cook something this long, with so much flavor, you can't tell it's not beef. I did use the Italian pork sausage but went with about 3/4 lb instead of the full pound, again to lessen the fat content. Oh, I also omitted the bacon bits. I used a Dutch oven instead of a large stock pot. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I used one less can of beans and cooked real bacon and added a bit of the bacon grease but other than that this recipe is great. Yes it has a lot of components but the flavor blends well and it is worth the prep time. I put it in the croc pot for 8 hours and let everything blend to slow cooked perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Have made this great chili numerous times. It's always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Awesome flavor, just a tad too hot for my pallet. Will adjust seasonings next time. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 3,301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States