Boiled Tongue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
This is also really good in tacos topped with chopped onion and cilantro and a good mexican salsa. My 8 year old love the sandwich for school lunch. I added some garlic and onion to give more flavor when cooking and cooked it in my slow cooker overnight is the best. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELY C.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
I also add a few bay leaves and about a half tablespoon of whole black peppers. A friend from Mexico, taught me to use shredded cabbage (I used bag), with aprox 5 sliced green onions, 1 large chopped tomato, 2 or 3 chopped and seeded jalepeno's all tossed together with a bit of olive oil and salt to make a salad. Then take chopped tongue on a soft tortilla that has been fried slightly with about a 1/4th cup of the salad and you have one great taco! Those who get grossed out at the thought of "tongue" don't know what they are missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This is an old good recipe! One suggestion: right after it is ready, place the tongue in a pot with cold water for a minute - the skin will be much easier to peel off. Serve it with horseradish. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Funny, I grew up in a european household...beef tongue was always something you found on the dinner table..I kid you not! The sauce that we use is a mixture of red horseradish and mayo...mix to your liking...but usually until it's a light burgundy kinda color....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahandtheCity

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I like ox tongue too. this is a good recipe. I used to eat ox tongue a lot when I was in Hong Kong. We usually serve it with curry and rice. One suggestion I would like to make about the marinate is to use beef broth, onion, cabbage, salt, carrot and have the tongue boil in it for 3 hours. My one problem is that the inside of the tongue does not have too much taste because the tongue is so big and it is hard for the favor to get through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABSCHICK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
You can't go wrong with this one. It's so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Thank you for this recipe. Made great tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAYLENE421

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
My children loved it and that is all that matters. My mom used to make it this way and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
My friend thought she would like this but she was not pleased. Let me tell you something, if you don't like tongue you will not like this! However i thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Wow! I had never had tongue but once I tried it I loved it! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States