Boiled Tongue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This is an old good recipe! One suggestion: right after it is ready, place the tongue in a pot with cold water for a minute - the skin will be much easier to peel off. Serve it with horseradish. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Very good. Like others I added a couple bay leaves, about 10 whole peppercorns, 1 tsp cayenne pepper, and 1 chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Good basic recipe. After slicing paper thin I marinate in good olive oil with red wine vinegar, chopped parsley, minced garlic, coarse salt and fresh ground black pepper. To die for as a salad or sandwich topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SURFWENCH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Funny, I grew up in a european household...beef tongue was always something you found on the dinner table..I kid you not! The sauce that we use is a mixture of red horseradish and mayo...mix to your liking...but usually until it's a light burgundy kinda color....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahandtheCity

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
You can't go wrong with this one. It's so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I like ox tongue too. this is a good recipe. I used to eat ox tongue a lot when I was in Hong Kong. We usually serve it with curry and rice. One suggestion I would like to make about the marinate is to use beef broth, onion, cabbage, salt, carrot and have the tongue boil in it for 3 hours. My one problem is that the inside of the tongue does not have too much taste because the tongue is so big and it is hard for the favor to get through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABSCHICK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
This is also really good in tacos topped with chopped onion and cilantro and a good mexican salsa. My 8 year old love the sandwich for school lunch. I added some garlic and onion to give more flavor when cooking and cooked it in my slow cooker overnight is the best. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELY C.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
I also add a few bay leaves and about a half tablespoon of whole black peppers. A friend from Mexico, taught me to use shredded cabbage (I used bag), with aprox 5 sliced green onions, 1 large chopped tomato, 2 or 3 chopped and seeded jalepeno's all tossed together with a bit of olive oil and salt to make a salad. Then take chopped tongue on a soft tortilla that has been fried slightly with about a 1/4th cup of the salad and you have one great taco! Those who get grossed out at the thought of "tongue" don't know what they are missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
In my country is a very special plate, just boiled or prepared for a great familiar o party time, but boiled means, onion, pepper, bay leaves, garlic, white vinegar, and the tongue of course. But, just salt is not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
great stuff, i like adding a couple bay leafs, black pepper,onion and a couple garlic cloves. but the recipe is still graet like it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States