Boiled Tongue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Good basic recipe. After slicing paper thin I marinate in good olive oil with red wine vinegar, chopped parsley, minced garlic, coarse salt and fresh ground black pepper. To die for as a salad or sandwich topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SURFWENCH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
You can't go wrong with this one. It's so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Very good. Like others I added a couple bay leaves, about 10 whole peppercorns, 1 tsp cayenne pepper, and 1 chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
great stuff, i like adding a couple bay leafs, black pepper,onion and a couple garlic cloves. but the recipe is still graet like it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I used to love this as a kid, thinly sliced and cold on rye bread. However, when I grew up and saw the whole tongue one day behind the deli counter, I just couldn't stop talking about it. I thought they just called it tongue. I never dreamed it really WAS a tongue. (Thank goodness it never did talk back to me.) Thanks for the memories, BLOSSOMFARM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Wow! I had never had tongue but once I tried it I loved it! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This is an old good recipe! One suggestion: right after it is ready, place the tongue in a pot with cold water for a minute - the skin will be much easier to peel off. Serve it with horseradish. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I like ox tongue too. this is a good recipe. I used to eat ox tongue a lot when I was in Hong Kong. We usually serve it with curry and rice. One suggestion I would like to make about the marinate is to use beef broth, onion, cabbage, salt, carrot and have the tongue boil in it for 3 hours. My one problem is that the inside of the tongue does not have too much taste because the tongue is so big and it is hard for the favor to get through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABSCHICK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
My friend thought she would like this but she was not pleased. Let me tell you something, if you don't like tongue you will not like this! However i thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Funny, I grew up in a european household...beef tongue was always something you found on the dinner table..I kid you not! The sauce that we use is a mixture of red horseradish and mayo...mix to your liking...but usually until it's a light burgundy kinda color....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahandtheCity

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States