Boiled Tongue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
My sons absolutely love tongue and home made noodles. You clean the tongue after cooking and cube it. Then you add it to the broth and boil your noodles in it. It is delicious. The noodles naturally thicken the broth as they cook. I roll my noodles by hand like my mom did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I grew up on beef tongue.so yummy!I put mine in the slow cooker with an envelope of onion soup mix and cook for 6hours or til done.I even got one from a friend for Christmas several years ago!All wrapped up with a red ribbon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
oh my, you can do better than that. 1 tablespoon pickling spice, a few sliced garlic cloves, onion, 1 sm. spicy pepper (or chili flakes), salt. make shallow incisions all over; tongue has very thick skin and will taste bland otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I am from New Zealand and this was definately one of the favorites on our dinner table. Mum prepared exactly the same way. I venture a little further and add the peppercorns and bay leaves great suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I only boiled with salt, but will add garlic, bay leaf and onions next time. Wish I could remember what my mother used for seasoning, but it wasn't much more than salt I believe. I boiled the tongue for three hours then put it into cold water for a few minutes before removing the outer skin. Then sliced it into 1/4 inch pieces. Then I roasted 8 slices of the meat with four quartered potatoes and some carrot pieces in a dutch oven with 1 cup beef broth @ 350 for about an hour; made gravy from the drippings left in the pan...great dinner!! My husband and I were both raised on farms and beef tongue was a treat. When we ordered 1/2 a beef they gave us two tongues...bonus!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Cut the cook time in half by using your pressure cooker. This also drives the spices through out the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coldwater, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This recipe isn't for everyone. I grew up on a farm and we raised our own beef, so I'm used to eating things like this. Beef tongue was a delicacy that was only had once a year. It tastes no different than roast beef other than it's richer in flavor. I think the biggest problem most people have is getting past the "idea" that it's a tongue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This takes me back. Every spring mom would fix a big pot of calf's tongue(tenderer she said), fresh green beans and new potatoes. Never used any seasoning but salt. Really good but nobody in my family(husband and kids) will eat it/even try tongue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
In my country is a very special plate, just boiled or prepared for a great familiar o party time, but boiled means, onion, pepper, bay leaves, garlic, white vinegar, and the tongue of course. But, just salt is not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turtle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States