Boiled Raisin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2000
Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe. My Mom use to make this very cake over 50 years ago, and I have tried many raisin cake recipes over the years in order to recreate it, but without any success. So thank you for bringing back a piece of our childhood for my sister and me. I know exactly where to find this recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2000
Very good cake, and easy to make. I made this one night while making dinner. I was concerned that there are no eggs (thought it was a mistake), and the batter was really thick (I had to spread it in the pan, not pour). But, I went ahead and the cake turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2000
This cake was really good. It is good in the morning with coffee. I made mine in a bundt pan, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2000
My co-worker baked it and brought to office. It tasted GREAT. I tried myself but used a smaller cake pan for thicker cake. It took a longer time to bake and turned out like rock and raisins at top are burnt and bitter. So be sure to follow the recipe and use correct size pan. I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
thank you so much for this recipe. my grandmother used to make it, and we thought when she passed away that the recipe was gone also, that was 27 yrs ago, so you can imagine how much we missed it.....thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
Very nice recipe. I'd never boiled raisins before, but I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
I was looking for something to bake without having to make a trip to the grocery store and found this recipe. I too had never boiled raisins and was a bit skeptical. However, this cake turned out wonderful! It was thick, moist and oh-so delicious! I don't understand how anyone could go wrong with this cake. I know that another reviewer had problems but trust me, it's not with the recipe. You can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
I know I have a winner when my picky 7 year old is not talking but eating instead. I wasn't surprised when my not so picky 2 year old was munching away. My co-workers raved also. The only thing I canged was I bakend it in a bundt pan and added a glaze when it was cooled for presentation. I will make this cake again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beeton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by starshadow
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I was looking for something different to make my dad for fathers day. We always make him oatmeal raisin cookies and he always complains that there aren't enough raisins (even when there are so many the cookies barely stay together!) I joked that I finally found a way to extract the essence of raisin (the boiling really does this!) and bake it throughout the cake. Boiling the raisins also makes sure the cake stays nice and moist. I substituted 1/4 of spiced rum for 1/4 of water in the baking and it turned out delicious. Great recipe if you love raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starshadow

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This recipe brought back many fond memories, I grew up with this cake being made by Mom every second week! Great flavor, easy to put together, lasts as long as your family will let it! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States