Boiled Raisin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Great smelling and tasting cake! Especially good in the morning with coffee. I followed the recipe except, it was done after only 40 minutes. It doesn't need any icing, but I did add powedered sugar to the top to make it look pretty! Next time I will add nuts! Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
The cake looks so wonderful.I topped it with Chocolate chips. It tastes good like the bread pudding my mum used to make.I also added some chocolate sprinkles to the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Easy to make and good with coffee in the morning, but not something really special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Well, I consider myself a pretty good baker, and this just didn't turn out so well. It came out more like dense, bread-like gingerbread than a cake. It was also pretty dry, and I baked it for 8 minutes less than the amount of time the recipe called for. It only had a 1/2 cup of oil in the enitre recipe, so I should have known going into this that it would be more bread-like. Also, the raisins that were on the top of the cake browned too much and didn't taste all that good. The spice combination was good, and perhaps if I add a glaze or frosting next time, that would help. Note--This definitely tasted better the second day, and also the longer it sat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This recipe brought back many fond memories, I grew up with this cake being made by Mom every second week! Great flavor, easy to put together, lasts as long as your family will let it! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by starshadow
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I was looking for something different to make my dad for fathers day. We always make him oatmeal raisin cookies and he always complains that there aren't enough raisins (even when there are so many the cookies barely stay together!) I joked that I finally found a way to extract the essence of raisin (the boiling really does this!) and bake it throughout the cake. Boiling the raisins also makes sure the cake stays nice and moist. I substituted 1/4 of spiced rum for 1/4 of water in the baking and it turned out delicious. Great recipe if you love raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starshadow

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
I know I have a winner when my picky 7 year old is not talking but eating instead. I wasn't surprised when my not so picky 2 year old was munching away. My co-workers raved also. The only thing I canged was I bakend it in a bundt pan and added a glaze when it was cooled for presentation. I will make this cake again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beeton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
I was looking for something to bake without having to make a trip to the grocery store and found this recipe. I too had never boiled raisins and was a bit skeptical. However, this cake turned out wonderful! It was thick, moist and oh-so delicious! I don't understand how anyone could go wrong with this cake. I know that another reviewer had problems but trust me, it's not with the recipe. You can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
Very nice recipe. I'd never boiled raisins before, but I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
thank you so much for this recipe. my grandmother used to make it, and we thought when she passed away that the recipe was gone also, that was 27 yrs ago, so you can imagine how much we missed it.....thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States