Boiled Potatoes with Chives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Very tasty, and oh so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
People sometimes make fun of the super-simple recipes, but for beginning cooks, recipes like this can really help them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
WOW...amazing simplicity!!! It does not get any easier than this recipe...but they are so tasty!!! I sometimes sprinkle on some fresh grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
It is good to remember the simple. At the moment, all I had were gold potatoes and parsley so here is my tweaked version of the recipe: I, as someone suggested, used some garlic to add a bit of flavor. I instead boil the potatoes until soft but still firm. Then, I melted the butter in a pan and added one crushed garlic clove (use 2 if cooking for 4) and cooked it until fragant (a few seconds). Last, I added the potatoes to the pan with a tablespoon of the water I used for boiling them. I cooked it until it warmed up a bit turned the stove off and sprinkled fresh parsley. The water thickens a bit the butter so your potatoes have a tiny bit of creamyness. Do not over toss the potatoes because then you will smash them inadvertently. The trick is using minimal tossing with the spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Chives is good on this, and so is parsley. I find Rosemary a little strong, but I really like Thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris in FL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This is just good old fashioned in your own kitchen cooking. It proves simple is best. Others suggested adding garlic, rosemary and so on. I say...knock yourself out! Whatever trips your trigger. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fox River Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
agree this is simple. but that is what's so great about it. I use garden grown chives especially for this. I add a crescent sliced onions to the boiling water @5 minutes from finish. just a great easy side dish to any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Easy and tasty. Perfect side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Sweany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Made it a second time tonight. I add 2 - cloves of garlic to the recipe. Quite good. I may try it with rosemary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
We were all beginners at some point so while this recipe is simple, it serves a purpose. Very good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Mashburn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rougemont, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States