Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I grew up a pnut farmer's daughter. I love them. I found a pressure cooker is GREAT for boiling peanuts. It only takes about 15 minutes of "jiggling" time. Then let it cool "without" water. this lets the salt get in the peanuts. I have just been cooking them this way a couple years and will never wait the 3 hours again. I use the salt ratio in this recipe and it works well. Remember the longer you let them sit in the salty water, the saltier they will become.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKINMAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Great basic recipe to share a southern staple. You can spice it up however you want - I add Old Bay to mine. If you want to store them, you can actually just pop them into freezer bags and freeze them for quite some time. Just take them out and bring them up to temperature in a pot of boiling water and voila, ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Very good. Only had 1 1/2 lbs. peanuts, 1/2 cup salt, 3 hrs. Perfect! Going to make again tomorrow with 5 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I need some more practice but these were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
peanuts came out great,i made about 5lbs,whats the best way to store them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I made half the serving of the listed recipe, which required 1/2 cup of salt. I had to use more salt, probably a total of 3/4 to 1 cup, and it still was not real salty, but it was the way I like mine. I also let mine boil longer. I then left them in the pot w/lid over night. They were great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I am from the south and here boil "green" peanuts. They are raw but have not been dried. Raw peanuts are generally dried. You can only get green peanuts during the summer months here but it is well worth it. Boil time is much shorter with green peanuts than raw. Just my 2cent as I boil many pounds of peanuts a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber a.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
LOL! I laughed when I saw this recipe. I am from the midwest, and when I came to the deep south, you would see people set up on the side of the road selling "boiled peanuts". Never heard of it! So I decided to try it and thought they were the most disgusting thing I had ever tasted!!! I tried them a few years later, and they had not been boiled to the point of mush. I have since LOVED making them, even introducing my sister and brother-in-law, who live in Chicago, to them. They did not go over well. But I'll keep trying!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOldis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
These are great...so many people have never tried boiled peanuts, they are missin out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCmofo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I LOVE BOILED PEANUTS. I USE A FEW SPOONFULS OF SOY SAUCE TO FLAVOR THE WATER(A TRICK I LEARNED DOWN SOUTH). IT ALWAYS TAKES 6-8 HOURS FOR MY PEANUTS TO COOK. I HAVE TO KEEP ADDING MORE FLAVORED WATER AS IT COOKS OUT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Puppy Chow

Make this irresistible snack kids and grownups will love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States