Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I give the original recipie three stars, but whoever said to add beef boullion was a genius! I tried that as well and it made great peanuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Yummy and fun to eat. I hadn't had this treat since I lived in SC. I boiled mine for 2 hours. I had a hard time tracking down raw peanuts, but finally found them in an Indian market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
These peanuts are great. After moving from Florida to Ohio, my family had missed out on purchasing boiled peanuts from the roadside stands. Now, whenever I make these, my kids stand by the pot and can't wait to eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I grew up a pnut farmer's daughter. I love them. I found a pressure cooker is GREAT for boiling peanuts. It only takes about 15 minutes of "jiggling" time. Then let it cool "without" water. this lets the salt get in the peanuts. I have just been cooking them this way a couple years and will never wait the 3 hours again. I use the salt ratio in this recipe and it works well. Remember the longer you let them sit in the salty water, the saltier they will become.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Great basic recipe to share a southern staple. You can spice it up however you want - I add Old Bay to mine. If you want to store them, you can actually just pop them into freezer bags and freeze them for quite some time. Just take them out and bring them up to temperature in a pot of boiling water and voila, ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Very good. Only had 1 1/2 lbs. peanuts, 1/2 cup salt, 3 hrs. Perfect! Going to make again tomorrow with 5 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I need some more practice but these were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
peanuts came out great,i made about 5lbs,whats the best way to store them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I made half the serving of the listed recipe, which required 1/2 cup of salt. I had to use more salt, probably a total of 3/4 to 1 cup, and it still was not real salty, but it was the way I like mine. I also let mine boil longer. I then left them in the pot w/lid over night. They were great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I am from the south and here boil "green" peanuts. They are raw but have not been dried. Raw peanuts are generally dried. You can only get green peanuts during the summer months here but it is well worth it. Boil time is much shorter with green peanuts than raw. Just my 2cent as I boil many pounds of peanuts a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber a.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States