Boiled Mustard Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
OK, would have given these a 5 rating BUT, made them twice, with two different batches of potatoes. For some reason ( and yes I cooked the heck out of them) my potatoes would not soften up. Not sure if it is suppose to do that or was just dumb luck, bad mustard? I did though liked the flavor. I am guessing that mustard potatoes will just have to become a memory for our family. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This recipe makes for some very flavorful potatoes. However, simmering the potatoes for 25-30 minutes did not get them done enough for me. I would recommend boiling the potatoes for a longer time than is listed in this recipe. Also I don't see the need for peeling the potato skins. Yukon Gold potato skins are delicious. All in all the combination of salt and mustard gives the potatoes a flavor that is dynamite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Scoot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I was excited to try this easy recipe, but was very disappointed. The potatoes tasted like plain boiled potatoes. I even added some spicy mustard to the recipe and still didn't get any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
boy made these for me with a dijon-garlic mustard aioli (from trader joes) and peeled baby red potatoes. it was delicious! not too much of a salt flavor, so i had to add that afterward, the texture and the taste were so different than anything i've ever had!! definitely recommend. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I made a single serving of these using 1 potato and 1 tbsp of mustard (as per AR conversion). I agree with other reviewers the flavour is a bit understated. I will try adding a bit more mustard next time. Fresh ground sea salt was very nice on these. I served it with ham and sauteed cabbage. Would be great with corned beef also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Pretty good. Maybe add little dry mustard or salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly except that I left the peel on and I enjoyed these very much. I garnished with parsley and next time I will add some pepper. This was a very nice side dish that would compliment many main dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
A great concept! I added a dash of ground mustard and some tumeric for extra color. Sprinkled with paprika to plate. Beautiful, fun, unique and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This recipe was okay. I loved the idea of it - we are mustard loving people in my family! The flavor was very understated, and only seemed to permeate the outer layer of the potato instead of permeating all the way through. I think that I might try this again with diced potatoes instead of halves, and perhaps a little mustard powder added to up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
We enjoyed these, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States