Boiled Mustard Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Recipe Group: I enjoyed the subtle flavor of these potatoes. Not a whole lot different from regular boiled potatoes, but different enough for me, and prettier on the plate. I think I would enjoy smaller pieces next time though; faster cooking and more flavor in the middle of the potato. I sprinkled with salt, pepper and dried parsley. Tasty and easy, thanks for the recipe AbsintheMinded!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Made this for Recipe Group...These were fine, but we thought that they really lacked flavor. The mustard taste was only slightly there (I used more mustard than called for), and they def need more salt than called for, IMO. I may try to play around with this more because I really like the idea. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This was pretty good. I cut the potatoes into smaller pieces so it would cook faster and I used a little more mustard than it called for. My 5 year old, son who is a picky eater, LOVED these. I'll make them again just for that reason. :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raspberry_waffles

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
jane liked this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
OK, would have given these a 5 rating BUT, made them twice, with two different batches of potatoes. For some reason ( and yes I cooked the heck out of them) my potatoes would not soften up. Not sure if it is suppose to do that or was just dumb luck, bad mustard? I did though liked the flavor. I am guessing that mustard potatoes will just have to become a memory for our family. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This recipe makes for some very flavorful potatoes. However, simmering the potatoes for 25-30 minutes did not get them done enough for me. I would recommend boiling the potatoes for a longer time than is listed in this recipe. Also I don't see the need for peeling the potato skins. Yukon Gold potato skins are delicious. All in all the combination of salt and mustard gives the potatoes a flavor that is dynamite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Scoot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I was excited to try this easy recipe, but was very disappointed. The potatoes tasted like plain boiled potatoes. I even added some spicy mustard to the recipe and still didn't get any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
boy made these for me with a dijon-garlic mustard aioli (from trader joes) and peeled baby red potatoes. it was delicious! not too much of a salt flavor, so i had to add that afterward, the texture and the taste were so different than anything i've ever had!! definitely recommend. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I made a single serving of these using 1 potato and 1 tbsp of mustard (as per AR conversion). I agree with other reviewers the flavour is a bit understated. I will try adding a bit more mustard next time. Fresh ground sea salt was very nice on these. I served it with ham and sauteed cabbage. Would be great with corned beef also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Pretty good. Maybe add little dry mustard or salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States