Boiled Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Always fascinated by fruit cakes, I finally decided to try three different recipes provided by allrecipes. This was one of them and it won hands down and enthusiastically voted number 1 by my family. It was moist, buttery and delicious. I doubled the recipe and macerated the fruit in 1/4 cup of Captain Morgans Rum for several hours. That's the only change I made. We devoured the first loaf and I saved the second loaf from the mob. Basted it first with the Captains, wrapped it in waxed paper then foil and tucked it away in the garage frig. for Christmas. I will probably baste again. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Hi Mark, I first reviewed your cake recipe in 2000. I am still using it with pre-school children (not the boiling bit obviously) to make our nursery Christmas cake. It is still a big hit with children and parents alike. Staff copy the recipe to take home. Fab recipe! Thanks again Mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Simply the GREATEST fruitcake recipe and so easy you could make several as gifts. Delicious and very very pretty and classic looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
this turned out great i added dates instead of the peel as my husband does not like it. i also added a little sherry to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This was so good right out of the oven. I wanted to wait but it smelled so good. I got 6 small loaves out of one recipe. I omitted the citrus peel and added dates and raisins for the dried fruit. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bee Brannin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeechobee, Florida, USA
Living In: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Wow...this is a great recipe. The cake came out so moist and the texture was just right, we loved it. I used brown sugar instead but about 1/4cup lesser & also increased to 2 tsp of mix spice + some nugmet. It came out beautifully & I'm going to make one for a friend as a new year gift. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was fantastic! I didn't use nuts, citrus or cherries, just mixed fruit and some prunes diced the same size as sultanas (just went by eyeballing the prune amounts). Took it to my Father's house for Christmas Day and everybody went back for seconds, we served it warm with brandy custard or thickened cream and it was so delicious. I didn't cook it the full time as I checked it about 15 minutes before and a skewer inserted in the middle showed it was cooked. I then smeared about 1 tblspn of bourbon over the top and just trimmed the non-stick paper so it was level with the cake and wrapped in foil which helped to soften the top of the cake (it steams) so that it's like the commercial types with the soft, smooth top and not rock hard. I put it in the fridge overnight, next morning left the non-stick paper on, double wrapped in plastic wrap and once in foil again and stored in fridge for five days and it traveled in an old biscuit tin. Seriously wonderful and can I say it blew all the other plum puddings and celebratin cakes that I had bought from the supermarket out of the water? It did. No sooner had I cut a slice, then someone would grab it. Oh yeah, boil the ingredients in a sort of larger style saucepan because the baking soda makes things bubble up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by imallie
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I loved this cake. I first soaked the chopped fruit in about 1/2 cup of brandy for three days. I really think it made a difference. I followed the cooking instructions almost exactly, with the newspaper and all. I did only cook it for an hour instead of the whole hour and forty,though. I think it would have been way too dry otherwise. I made the cake two weeks before Christmas and let it sit in my fridge in a large tin. Every other day I drizzled it with a little brandy. So delicious! I even got a friend of mine(who DOES NOT like fruitcake,haha)to admit that it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Baking a fruit cake for the very first time and having it turn out so beautifully, was never in my wildest dream. Thank you, Mark, for sharing this recipe and I must say that it has done me a great favor, as Christmas is nearing and I wanted this festive season to be a special one since I've just tied the knot early this year. The cake is so moist and soaking the fruits in Rum, added to its richness. And the final touch - I've poured some Rum over the cake as well once it's all cooled down. Right now, I can't seem to keep my hubby away from the cake. Thanks once again and I shall keep baking this cake, year in, year out. Regards, Nisha Rayan - Kuala Lumpur -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
The perfect fruit cake - I'll keep this recipe and use it again and again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States