Boiled Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
EXCELLENT! I have always bought fruitcakes that are about $40 + shipping each! I don't need to buy a fruitcake anymore! I doubled the nuts to 1 cup but next time will probably use 2+ cups nuts. I used about 1 cup mixed fruit and the rest made up of dates, golden and regular raisins. Soaked all fruit in dark rum about 12 hrs before. One significant change was that I substituted 1/4 cup of the white sugar with 1/4 cup dark molasses. I don't like the taste of molasses but I like a dark fruitcake and it was not molassey tasting, but gave it the color I wanted. I used about 1/4 cup less milk to compensate for the extra liquid. So to be clear, I used 1 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup molasses. Also added about 50% more allspice plus about 1/4-1/2 tsp extra cloves, cinnamon and ginger as we like a spicy cake. Still wasn't too spicy when done though. I put this in 2 greased loaf/bread pans and did not wrap the pans with newspaper - what is that for anyway? Baked 25 mins at 325 then 50-55 mins at 300. Could have baked a little shorter like maybe 45 mins at 325 and would have been fine. I had no idea what to do when they came out of the oven but I removed from pans, brushed w/dark rum only on one side, wrapped in foil and refrigerated overnight. Opened up the next morning, brushed all sides with dark rum and re-wrapped in plastic then foil--but I sliced off a piece to taste and it was AWESOME!!! Just wish it had more nuts, but great flavor! I will make this every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I posted when I first found the recipe about a missing ingredient...duh on me, it was there but I just didn't see it listed at the end :) Anyway, for my first fruitcake ever, this turned out beautiful! Reading other reviews it seems that it's wonderfully flexible as far as ingredients preferred. I tossed in some raisins I had, added twice as many walnuts as called for, added a bit more spices to the mix and tossed some pumpkin pie spice I had on hand. WOW! This converted three people who claim to hate fruitcake to fruitcake lovers...or should I say, loving *this* fruitcake. It's been requested every holiday now so it'll be in heavy rotation! And boy! Was it nice & heavy! It really is almost too easy to make. I didn't use the brown paper around the angel food cake pan and it turned out perfect, right down to the minute. Thank you to both the original poster *and* his Mom for the recipe!!! Ya' done good!!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann DeAngelis Refford

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I have made this 2 Christmases in a row and WOW, it is incredible! I used candied fruitcake mixed fruit that you buy in the store that I soaked in amaretto for about 2 weeks prior to baking. The day I prepared it, I used regular dried fruit. This year I used apricots and strawberries and it was delicious. Instead of mixed spice, I used a combination of nutmeg, cinnamon, and pumpkin pie spice. I also added vanilla extract. It's really such a versatile recipe, as long as you get the basic preparation. I feel you can experiment with different fruits, nuts, and spices. I also didn't use the newspaper...I just covered the pan with parchment paper on the inside and foil on the outside. Don't be intimidated by fruitcake or think that it's not for you. I have converted people who hated fruitcake with this recipe. It is so moist, dense, and sweet. I can see this becoming a Christmas tradition in my household. You must try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
My first fruit cake attempt and I loved it. I mixed up the dried fruit to my preference (Don't like the green/red cherries) and it turned out well. I also added more nuts than it called for and sprinkled it with some rum before wrapping it up in plastic wrap and foil to rest for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
It needed something to fit my tastes, so I changed a few things. I used brown sugar, 1 Tb cocoa powder, added raisins, and put in rum extract. Then the spices I used were cinnamon, allspice, and corriander. What I got was a beautiful,dark, cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raisedbywolves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misdmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
GREAT! I passed on the citrus peel and glace cherries I used dried dates, figs, golden raisins, cranberries, apricot and 2 kinds of dried cherries. I also added a mini bottle of Gran Mariner to the boiled fruit. Everyone who made a face when I said fruitcake came back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Thanks Mark for sharing this wonderfully easy recipe. My first fruitcake ever and turned out as described!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is the easiest Fruitcake recipe, and turns out great. I did a batch where I soaked all the fruit 24 hours in brandy, and it mellowed out perfectly after the cake sat for a few days. I did four small loaf pans, knocked a half hour off the second bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I've never been a big fruitcake fan, but this was delicious! I made it with a few variations: * Dried cranberries marinated in vodka for a few days until fully re-hydrated * Raisins marinated in water until fully rehydrated * Two large apples, diced * Marinated the typical neon dried fruit blend for fruitcakes in vodka for a few days until re-hydrated * Walnuts and pecans because I had them on hand * Used cooking spray on cake pan and it came out fine -- no parchment or newspaper needed. I was trying to get a more natural tasting fruitcake and would probably add more apples/cranberries and decrease the neon fruitcake blend next time. Rum taste was very mild and added a nice warm undertone. This cake would probably be excellent with just apple pieces and I may try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YMATLOSZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States