Boiled Custard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
This custard is too thin and bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
I liked the fact that it was just simple ingredients although i added vanilla. Not overadorned with cluttery extras!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Easy to make. I read the reviews and decided to exchange: Milk - I used a can of Carnation evaporated milk Sugar - I used a can of Eagle Brand condensed milk and added vanilla. It tasted like a light Creme Brulee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Being pregnant in the summer and craving boiled custard of all things made me try this recipe. I didn't want to make the full 12 servings, in case it wasn't that good...no offense Angela...so the only thing I altered with this recipe was the serving size to 4. After about 30 minutes of stirring, the custard finally started thickening up. Looked like boiled custard...smelled like boiled custard...but when I tasted it, the egg was the only flavor to really come through. I didn't feel like finishing off the egg shake I had made so I'll just wait until November 1st...when my local grocery store says they will carry it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PartyofFive

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murray, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I made this recipe for 7 (because that came out to 3 eggs). I used 2/3 cup of turbinado (raw) sugar instead of the 1C and 3 TBS white sugar it called for and I would still cut that in half. Of the 4 & 2/3C milk, I used 2C Rice milk, 1 can evaporated, and the rest heavy/whipping cream. I also added a splash each of vanilla and almond extracts. I'm pretty sure I cooked it too long because it started to get little bits in it. It stayed thinner than spoonable, though the recipe does not specify if this is like the drink called boiled custard you find in The South around the holidays or the kind you eat with a spoon. All in all I think it was pretty darn good considering all the changes I made and the over cooking. Great taste, and it freezes VERY nicely!!! Like really good ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gluten Free Jeannie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Perfect boiled custard! FYI, this is SUPPOSED TO BE thinner than pudding (hence custard and NOT pudding) as you can either eat it plain or my favorite way: pour it over cake, ice cream, fruit, pie, etc...just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQsBread

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Classic custard cream recipe. If you want it thicker the trick is to use 3 tablespoons of flour or starch per liter of milk. Stir that into the egg/sugar mixture well so no clumps are left. Also, instead of whole eggs use egg yokes, make the custard as usual, then wait to cool to room temp and add the cooled cream slowly, while beating, to hard beaten egg whites (so they look like whipped cream). Beating the egg whites separately will give the cream more texture and thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sofiesmagick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Super simple and delicious added vanilla and put on direct heat since the double boiler wasn't working for me and that did the trick just stirred continuously until it was the right consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Wonderful and easily customized. Hit the spot. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crème Brulee

See how easy it is to make this classic creamy French dessert.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States