Boiled Custard I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
A perfect recipe. Quick, simple and turns out exactly as a custard should -- subtle, yet rich. By the way, scrambled eggs as mentioned in another comment would be a result of not tempering the eggs. (combining them *very* slowly) Follow the directions and this one turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2000
Not a whole lot of flavor in this one. Would be better if served with a sauce. Kids don't really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I searched books and the internet but could not find a custard that would meet my families dietary needs. (Sugar free, low fat and low cholesterol). I decided to adjust this recipe and see what happened. I used Splenda, 1% milk and Egg Creations liquid egg product and crossed my fingers. The result was AMAZING! It set wonderfully, was creamy and tasted sweet and rich with vanilla. My suggestion is to never rush a custard and cover the cooling custard with a film of plastic wrap so that it lays directly on top of the custard. This prevents a 'crusty film' from forming. Thank you so much for your contribution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
This was a great recipe! It took fifteen minutes to make, and satisfied the whole families hunger for high quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2000
I found this custard very bland; it tastes like cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
Absolutely Perfect! Came out perfectly first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
I used this custard in a trifle dessert (layered cake dessert with cake, custard, and fresh fruit). I had to scoop out scrambled eggs from the custard mixture, but after doing that and adding some more corn starch, it turned out well. Maybe I did something wrong, so I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I'm not a big fan of custard but this one is very nice. It has great flavour, not too "eggy". Smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
If you know what you're doing, you won't have any problem with the eggs. I have made this on several occasions with no problems. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mason City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This is just perfect! I tried it in a double boiler and it just seemed to take forever. Then, I tried it on medium heat, stirring almost continuously, and it worked fine. Then, I added cooked rice at the end for a rice pudding/custard. I shared this with two Mongolian friends who had never had pudding and they loved it...had seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States