Boiled Custard I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Previous reviewer was right on target...bland and tasted like cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CREEPER00

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
No problems, using raw milk and tempering my eggs. I also used 2 egg yolks instead of the second egg, since I had them left over from another recipe. Perfect for the trifle I'm compiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This really is fantastic! It's got that scalded milk, caramelized sugar flavor. It's so yummy. It made a pretty thick film on top while cooling, so I had to run it through a sieve, but still, YUMMY!! Be sure to temper the eggs first and stir it constantly, or you'll probably get scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traskwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I had trouble with this recipe, it didn't set and even though I tried tempering the eggs they still had the scrambled eggs problem. Overall it didn't have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
Absolutely Perfect! Came out perfectly first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
A perfect recipe. Quick, simple and turns out exactly as a custard should -- subtle, yet rich. By the way, scrambled eggs as mentioned in another comment would be a result of not tempering the eggs. (combining them *very* slowly) Follow the directions and this one turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
I used this custard in a trifle dessert (layered cake dessert with cake, custard, and fresh fruit). I had to scoop out scrambled eggs from the custard mixture, but after doing that and adding some more corn starch, it turned out well. Maybe I did something wrong, so I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
This was a great recipe! It took fifteen minutes to make, and satisfied the whole families hunger for high quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2000
I found this custard very bland; it tastes like cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2000
Not a whole lot of flavor in this one. Would be better if served with a sauce. Kids don't really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States