Boiled Chocolate Delight Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I really really liked this cake. It took about 2 hours to cook, but was well worth the wait. I don't have a bunt pan so I just used my 10qt pot, placed it on a rack and put in a larger pot. I didn't use aluminum foil to cover it I just used my pot lid. The cake is even great leftover the next day. My father thinks the texture is more like a brownie than cake. But my whole family of seven loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Raytown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Maybe I'm the only person who made it wrongly. Bcos I did not get a moist, soft cake. It got a bit hard and when I put it in the fridge, it's getting harder in the next day. I'm familiar with steamed cake bcos in my country we have steamed brownies, which absolutely my favourite. Maybe I have to try again later and hopefully I can change to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
in great britain, this is commonly called a pudding and it has been an essential part of the british pastry heritage for centuries. figgy pudding, of christmas carol fame, is just one example of the many vaieties. nice to see this nod to the amerrican passion for chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This cake is amazing. It is so moist. I loved it...as did everyone else. Thanks for the great recipe Jackie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedee2ks
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This cake was a blast to make! We had it for Easter. I didn't have a pot large enough to put the whole bundt inside it, so I rested the rim of my bundt on the rim of the largest pot I had, which fit perfectly. I put foil over only the bundt at first and then toward the end of the boiling I put foil over the whole pot to get the top of the cake done. It was moist and delicious but not too rich. We also used a chocolate glaze that worked perfectly. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
What an awesome cake! Thank you for sharing the recipe! It was super moist and deliscious- I didn't have walnuts, so I left them out and this was still fabulous- even my food snob of a husband loved it! He took the cake and shared it with his friends- it got rave reviews all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRYSINDA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I made this cake yesterday and followed the directions exactly. It is a delicious, moist cake and was easy to prepare, even though I had never steam-baked a cake before in my life. The chocolate cinnamon flavor is so nice. I served it with a warm vanilla sauce and my family loved it. I'll keep this recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This is probably the best cake I've ever made. It has fabulous texture, very soft and fudgy. It is excellent plain but would be great with ice-cream as well. Instead of using a rack I did it in a square Bundt pan that was inserted into a round pot so that the edges overlapped and it was held up by the rim of the pot. I filled the bottom two inches of the pot with water and covered the top with the pot lid (with the pan inside). Seemed to work great but took much longer than anticipated, about two hours because some of the steam was escaping. Thanks for a great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I couldn't believe how beautiful this cake turned out. I used my large pressure cooker, without the pressure cooker attachment thingy, because it was large enough to hold my bundt pan. I also didn't have any cocoa powder, so I used 3 bars of Hershey's Unsweetened Chocolate Bars(It was all I had left)so the cinnamon is very predominate and delicious. I then made a sauce using Bailey's Cappacino Liquor and whipped cream. Amazing. Thank you for such a wonderful dream cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States