Boiled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Thank you for the recipe... :) cheers... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sazi Suber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Great building block recipe! I'd never had any idea what to do with a whole chicken or how to make my own broth, but this recipe is so straightforward (and all of the comments so helpful)! I'm intending to use this chicken for enchiladas tomorrow, so I went ahead and added some smashed garlic cloves, onion salt, coriander and three shakes of crushed red chilies - and it's delicious already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This recipe was fantastic. I decided to put my own little twist on it. Instead of water, I cooked it with a small amount of olive oil in a frying pan. I also added mushrooms in place of the celery and onions in place of the carrots. I finished it off with some red wine sauce. Came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I must give this a 5 for ease of preparation,healthy preparation and versatility.I made it as directed but added some salt and garlic.Once cooked you have chicken for all sorts of meals or sandwiches,or soup plus a home that smells so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I do onion, celery, carrot, salt, pepper, rosemary, and garlic. Strain the broth and keep for chicken and rice or any other chicken recipe. I put the broth in an ice cube tray and then (when frozen) into a gallon-size Zip-Lock bag in the freezer for easy portioning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Lamb
Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Thank you!!! And you're right, boiled chicken meat is called for in SOO many recipes and is very expensive comparatively in the cans. This way, NO preservatives, I pick the spices and herbs, salt to taste, VOILA!! And as much chicken meat in my soups as I like! THANK YOU, GEORGE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Here is a hint for straining the broth. Put the chicken and veggies in a cheesecloth bag (or a net cooking bag, they have them in some stores). When the chicken is done just lift the bag out and open it into a large bowl. No straining necessary! I also suggest more spices and veggies. Parsnips add a wonderful flavor, garlic and thyme and fresh dill are nice too, but I guess that is if you want a flavorful broth as well and not just boiled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Quick and Easy! I like to use this to make broth and for chicken for chicken salad. Depending on my mood and what i'm making I add different seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Very nice basic recipe. I used a package of chicken thighs and served it with rice as a bland dinner for a family member getting over a stomach illness. I only made two changes: (1) adding about a teaspoon of minced garlic from a jar, and (2) I followed the other reviewers' advice to let it cool in the broth, and the texture was great - very very tender. Yes, it is quite tasteless, but when you can only eat crackers and toast and Jell-o, it's a great change! You can get it slightly tastier by adding salt and pepper beforehand and fresh lemon juice just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I didn't notice much of a difference in doing it this way and just using plain water. Still got the added benefit of using the veggies for part of the meal though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perry, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States