Boiled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was wonderful. It made a wonderful chicken stock. We had the most tender chicken and so flavorful. I also made majority of the chicken and broth into a soup and it was THE best chicken soup we had ever had. So, thank you for this basic boiled chicken recipe. I will never buy canned chicken again when this is so simple and much more tasty! I did follow the advice of some of the others and it turned out great! I can usually find whole chickens on sale for $.69/lb and the amt of meat you receive can make several meals. Works great to freeze as well. Just be sure and freeze in a little of it's broth to keep it moist. I also bought some ice cube trays and will use those to make my broth cubes to use. No longer needing to buy those very SALTY boullion cubes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Simple & tasty. The chicken was literally falling off the bone as I was taking it out of the pot, and it's juicy & delicious. I haven't made soup yet, but I tasted the broth and it is delicious. Thank you so much! EDIT: Since my 1st review, I have used this method several times; with whole chickens, thighs, legs, breasts (whatever was on sale!) This is a great way to cook a lot of chicken in "bulk" and still have a lot of versatility. If you can stock up on chicken of any cut when it's on sale, or the day before it expires at the supermarket, this recipe is for you! You can boil as stated in the recipe, or use plain water and while it's simmering, you don't have to do a thing! I used the stock of soups, and in 1 batch, I had enough to fill 2 chicken pot pies, fajitas for my family and a week's worth of chicken for chicken salad sandwiches (try the curry chicken salad recipes). This is perfect for the budget conscious. Thank you SO MUCH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I have been making this for years. I buy double when chicken is on sale and use this recipe to have chicken for the weeks menu. I use it for sandwiches, wraps, casseroles, salads some for the freezer for another time, etc... Excellent.` THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is fantastic, and very simple. I use this for a soup, and the larger pieces of meat I use in a casserole the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kannp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This was my first time boiling chicken and it came out sooo tender and delicious. I bought a 2 pound WHOLE chicken and all I added in the water were carrots, flattened garlic cloves, pepper, an salt. The rest of the flavors came from the chicken. I simmered the chicken just before boiling (following a reviewer's suggestion) and the meat really did fall off the bone. YUM! Also, since I used a 2 pound chicken it only took me about an hour. I agree with the reviewers that said to keep the skin for the extra flavor, and then skim off the fat later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I've made this time and time again as a base for my homemade chicken noodle soup and it's perfect! One reminder though, never bring the water to a boil because it makes the chicken tough. It's important to catch it right before a boil and let it simmer from there. Follow that rule and you'll have the best most tender chicken around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I personally don't like to make alterations to other people's recipes... especially ones that are rated with 5 stars, but I did add a few extra ingredients. Sorry--often annoyed by other reviewers for making so many alterations that it is no longer YOUR recipe. However, your recipe is perfect. I just added some garlic and parsley to suit my tastes. Even without that, it would have been absolutely wonderful. Thank you so much. I searched for this recipe simply because I wasn't sure about the cooking time. Your instructions are immaculate as far as I am concerned. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Skim the top a few times while it's cooking and you have broth for soups - way better than canned and way less wasteful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This is a very good basic recipe. For those who say that it bland should realize that it is for the basic diced cooked chicken. You spice and season it as you make your final recipe. When I get a great sale on whole chickens, I get out the giant stock pot and fill it and cover with water and start heating it. I like to be able to go out to the garden and snip some fresh herbs. Whatever is growing and looks good. I like my final recipes with dark meat. Some (my SO) do not, so I bag up some different mixes and freeze them. The boil the bones some more and filter the liquid through a fine mesh filter. This liquid freezes into the best broth you can get. I really like to be able to put a bunch of these into the freezer before winter comes. It gives me the cooked chicken for taco, burritos, pot pies, chicken soup, chick and dumplings, etc. at a drop of a hat for a hearty winter supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States