Boiled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Really enjoyed this chicken. It came out very moist. I also used chicken breasts and only boiled them for about 50 minutes. Didn't have peppercorns so used garlic salt and ground pepper. Turned out fantastic! Even better the next day in our chicken salad sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
The chicken was full of flavor. The chicken can be used for any kind of dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEWSHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Thanks for the great recipe! I used a crock pot because it fit with my schedule better. The chicken was very tender and easy to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I used this as a base for the Creamy Chicken Lasagna recipe listed on this site. Instead of a whole chicken, I used two large boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about 1 1/4 pounds total) and I halved the amounts of vegetables. I didn't have peppercorns, so I put several shakes of ground pepper in the pot. I let them cook away for about 50 minutes and they were done and perfect. I saved the stock, and I will either use it in the next couple days or chuck it. :) It's not really strong broth, but it's not just water anymore either! Thanks for a quick and simple way to make stock AND cook chicken up! Maybe I'll cook up a few pounds of chicken, then cut them up and stick them in the freezer for quick chicken sandwiches in the future...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Such a simple recipe yet, so useful!!! I cooked a huge batch and then use it in different receipes during the week. A handful sauteed in TexMex Spices works phenomenally well when whipping up some quick quesadillas. We also mixed BBQ sauce in it for speedy sandwiches. Add a little mayo, apples and walnuts a couple of days later for chicken salad. I got requests for it again immediately!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceKir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I follow many of the suggestions other reviewers have. I remove the skin to cut back on some of the fat. I also like a lot of garlic in my chicken. I will have to try letting the chicken cool in the pot, I usually remove to cool. Finally, save the liquid as it does make great stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I make this at least every couple of weeks. I freeze small portions in ziploc baggies & then use in my dogs' dinner (my vet advocates boiled chicken for my dogs)or in many other recipes calling for chicken. I do leave the veggies in big chunks for ease of removal. To clarify stock for clear broth, removing solid flecks that are too small to be strained out with cheesecloth, follow this method. Separate the egg white from the egg yolk of one egg and reserve the shell. In a small bowl, combine 1/4 cup cold water, egg white, and crushed eggshell. Add to strained stock, and bring to a boil. Remove from heat, and let stand 5 minutes. Strain again through a sieve lined with cheesecloth. From cloudy to crystal clear in no time! (I got this method from another recipe on this site...Basic Chicken stock)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Awsome!!! Perfect to make and use for many different chicken recipes. Have made twice and will make many times to come. Thank you for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethannie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Great base recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
This is SO easy and tastes SO good! I put my chicken (usually boneless breasts) in the crock pot, cover it with water and add the salt, pepper, onions, carrots, celery (and garlic too) in chunks. Someone else had posted that it is then easier to pull out of the broth when you're done. Unbelievable flavor for both the broth and chicken. And in the crock pot it is absolutely effortless!! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
511 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut Lake, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Grove City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States