Boiled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This recipe was fantastic. I decided to put my own little twist on it. Instead of water, I cooked it with a small amount of olive oil in a frying pan. I also added mushrooms in place of the celery and onions in place of the carrots. I finished it off with some red wine sauce. Came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I must give this a 5 for ease of preparation,healthy preparation and versatility.I made it as directed but added some salt and garlic.Once cooked you have chicken for all sorts of meals or sandwiches,or soup plus a home that smells so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I do onion, celery, carrot, salt, pepper, rosemary, and garlic. Strain the broth and keep for chicken and rice or any other chicken recipe. I put the broth in an ice cube tray and then (when frozen) into a gallon-size Zip-Lock bag in the freezer for easy portioning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dovie2010
Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Thank you!!! And you're right, boiled chicken meat is called for in SOO many recipes and is very expensive comparatively in the cans. This way, NO preservatives, I pick the spices and herbs, salt to taste, VOILA!! And as much chicken meat in my soups as I like! THANK YOU, GEORGE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Here is a hint for straining the broth. Put the chicken and veggies in a cheesecloth bag (or a net cooking bag, they have them in some stores). When the chicken is done just lift the bag out and open it into a large bowl. No straining necessary! I also suggest more spices and veggies. Parsnips add a wonderful flavor, garlic and thyme and fresh dill are nice too, but I guess that is if you want a flavorful broth as well and not just boiled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Quick and Easy! I like to use this to make broth and for chicken for chicken salad. Depending on my mood and what i'm making I add different seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Very nice basic recipe. I used a package of chicken thighs and served it with rice as a bland dinner for a family member getting over a stomach illness. I only made two changes: (1) adding about a teaspoon of minced garlic from a jar, and (2) I followed the other reviewers' advice to let it cool in the broth, and the texture was great - very very tender. Yes, it is quite tasteless, but when you can only eat crackers and toast and Jell-o, it's a great change! You can get it slightly tastier by adding salt and pepper beforehand and fresh lemon juice just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I didn't notice much of a difference in doing it this way and just using plain water. Still got the added benefit of using the veggies for part of the meal though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perry, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
It's called boiled chicken so don't expect spectacular but its quick, easy, and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
The turned out great. I did add some garlic salt and let the chicken cool in the broth to prevent drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States