Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Just way too salty...I loved the broiling tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Awesome bagels, and sooo easy to make. If you want big bagels, you need to let them rise for more than 20 minutes before boiling them. I did, and they turned huge and amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I made these yesterday! I can't believe how easy they were! Instead of keeping them plain I made everything bagels with this recipe.... After taking them out of the boiling water and draining I seasoned them with onion and garlic flakes, poppy seeds, and seat salt, then baked them! They came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This is my first bagel making attempt and they turned out amazing! Followed directions except left to rise after formed an hour on floured board. So good fresh from the oven spread with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
These turned out wonderfully for our first time making them. My husband and I love asiago cheese bagels so we threw in garlic powder and cheese during the kneading time. Very easy, quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I made these last night and I have to say that these were some of the best bagels I've ever had. Such a simple recipe that took no time at all. **ONE NOTE** I did follow the advice of one critical review from Jodi. (circa 11-26-11) that said to not boil the bagels for seven minutes. I boiled mine two mins max and baked for 25-30 mins. Again great recipe! Can't wait to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I added a little baking soda to the water and didn't boil quite as long, maybe 5 minutes total. Great bagel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
After spending hours in the kitchen following instructions to the letter (digital thermometer to ensure the water was exactly the right temp, bought the yeast last night to ensure it was good, etc.) and after all that work I ended up with heavy doughy messy lumps. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I have made a lot of bread but never bagels. Everything that went wrong was my own fault, one rolled off on its way out of the pot, my stove does not like to simmer and I moved them around on the baking sheet and wiped off some of the cooking spray and those stuck. There was also the pressure of himself going through the fridge to pick out what he was going to put on his bagel... I didn't get any soggy bagels but I put them right in the oven from the pot, didn't wait until they were all done. Will be trying this again and adding garlic and poppy seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Great recipe, we love bagels and we can't get them here in rural Argentina . I made a batch last evening, topped some with dried onion , sesame seeds, dried garlic . They are really yummy toasted or plain, I'll definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States