Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
HEy, im just 16 and I was bored so I decided to try making bagels and it has turned into kind of a hobby I have tried a lot of different recipes and some have come out pretty good what I did with this is I made 8 jumbo bagels andI REALY LIKE THIS RECIPE BECASUE WHEN I USE ONE TABEL SPOON OR MORE OF MOLASSES IN MY BOILING WATER !!!!!! (no offence) it gives me the real new york water bagel surface I have been trying forever to obtain it is shint and hard and it gets little cracks in it when you bend it so I liked everything about them they came out like a bagel should hard and shiny and soft and chewy oh..... and jumbo ( I let them rise a little longer great recipe thanks later
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
Perfect, perfect! I subbed 1 1/2 C whole wheat flour and baked them on a pizza stone sprinkled with cornmeal. I could only bake 6 at a time, so due to my fussy baby I accidentally let the second half of the batch rise for 1 hour on a floured board under a damp towel after they were formed instead of the twenty minutes the recipe called for, and the second batch was SPECTACULAR- light and fluffy on the inside, crisp on the outside. I also only needed no bake them for half as long as the recipe called for- good thing I kept an eye on them the first time- not sure if my oven is off or what, but just watch them closely the first time to see what they do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This was my first attempt at making homemade bagels! They came out fantastic!! It is a process... easy, but a bit time consuming, like anything baked using yeast.I didn't change anything except I used the suggestions from others, I let them rise for 30 minutes and made 8 larger bagels instead of the 12...and they are a perfect size! I also used maybe a quarter cup of whole wheat flour as well. I made them everything bagels by dipping the bagel in a bowl with poppy seeds, onion flakes, garlic flakes, some sesame seeds, and one batch had some coarse sea salt added. One bagel I coated with some honey and sprinkled some oats on it..just to see.I dipped them in it after I boiled them before baking. I also lightly oiled the baking sheet and sprinkled some corn meal. I must say, they taste wonderful, my boyfriend loved them!! Thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Greenwich, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I make a lot of breads and this was so easy!!! Make sure your dough rises regardless of the amount of time stated and make sure your water is not too hot when you add it to the yeast and flour. That may be why some of your bagels sank. After you have shaped the bagels and they have risen, make sure you don't knock them down before you put them into the boiling water. GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This was not my first time making bagels, but this was by far this is the easiest recipe to follow. In order to form a semi-perfect bagel, after letting the dough rest for 15 minutes, I rolled them into 12 smooth balls, and then let it rise for 30 minutes. I also made an oatmeal bagel with 1 cup white flour, 2 cups wheat flour, and 1 1/2 of ground oatmeal. I added 4 tablespoons of honey, and they came out scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
My kids had a blast making these with me, and they came out like Real Bagels! I made a couple small modifications to the recipe: To get commercial sized bagels, we made 8 with this recipe instead of 12. I let the yeast rest with the salt and sugar in the hot water for a few moments before adding it to the other dry ingredients - years of making dough has taught me this is the way I get them to rise better. I let the formed bagels rise in warm oven (oven turned on for two minutes while forming bagels and then turned off) and sprayed the pan they were on with PAM so I could peel them off easier to get them a'boiling. (Used a shortening-greased pan to bake, however).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Bagels came out nice. Had a nice texture but like a lot of reviewers stated; recipe makes 12 small bagels (although that size is good for breakfast egg sandwiches!) I myself make 10 med. sized bagels. I think I will let dough rise longer next time. I also am going to try out the honey-oatmeal version that Nicole submitted sounds yummy! (Thanks Nicole!) I gave this recipe a solid 4 instead of a 5 because the recipe really didn't make the amount stated and they didn't rise quite as much as I would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
WOW! Maybe I just lucked out but my bagels came out just wonderful. They were exactly the type of bagel that I wanted. I used half whole wheat flour and made about 8 larger bagels. I let them rise 30 minutes and I did the broiling technique first before boiling them. I think I should have broiled them just a tad longer and they would have been slightly shinier. I baked them for about 25 minutes and turned them once while baking just because I wanted both sides a tad crispy. They were just perfect all around, and the middle was nice and fluffy. I made a nice big veggie bagel sandwich soon after they were out of the oven and I was just in heaven. I will be making these weekly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
These bagels are very delicious, but this was my very first attempt at making bagels. Anyone new to making bagels should note that the instructions should mention that the bagels must be placed in the oven immediately after boiling. I didn't have a big enough pot to boil all the bagels at once, so I had to boil them in two separate batches. The first batch that I boiled then left to sit and wait for the second batch came out of the oven very dense and rubbery. However, the batch that went directly from the boiling water into the oven came out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karri-ann Flater

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacombe, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Great recipe! I worked at a bagel shop while in college and we did the traditional boiled bagel and this come pretty close. Some notes: Proofing the bagels - After I shaped the bagels (forming the dough into a small ball and poking a hole in the middle is genius!), I put them on a cookie sheet, let them rise a bit (about 15mins or so) and placed them in the refrigerator for about 45mins. This allows them to proof the rest of the way and helps them retain their shape once you put the bagel into the boiling water. Boiling the bagels - Depending on how you like the texture will determine how long you let the bagel boil. For mine, I only let the bagel boil for about 30-45 seconds which will give it a thin crispy crust and a softer texture inside. I've never heard of letting a bagel boil in water for 7mins., from my experience (baking bagels at 3am - sometimes hungover and having this happen), boiling bagels too long causes them to become water-logged and hard to handle (but if you had success, then I've learned something new!). Also, it's important to keep the water at a very high boil. I dropped one bagel in at a time so the temp wouldn't drop. Seriously, not sure if I'm going to pay $10+ for a dozen bagels around here anymore especially since this recipe was so good! Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg

A foolproof method for perfect hard boiled eggs, every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States