Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by sarahmicheller
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Great recipe, a tad yeasty, but i'm sure that depends on brand and such. Next time I will tweak it. Still a thousand times better than the cheap store bought kind. Thanks much much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Made everything bagels out of this recipe. I let my neighbors who were all hanging out try them, and they ALL said they were the best bagels they'd ever had! This was quite the compliment to me and the recipe, as I do NOT consider myself to be a baker- I usually stick to cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Nice bagels, but not the dense types that I like. These bagels were chewier. Another problem was that there was too much salt in it. Having said all that, this was a really good bagel recipe for newbies to bagel making, like myself. It was so easy to make and tasted so nice (even if not dense) that I made two batches in one day. But, as other reviewers have commented, they are a smallish-sized 12 bagels. Bagels I've bought from stores were double the size of my bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I followed the broil first for shiny look directions. The only thing I added was during baking, I brushed the tops of each bagel with whipped eggwhites/water every 8 minutes. Not only did they turn out beautiful, they were absolutely delicious!. The big test was 2 days later when I toasted the extras I stored in a plastic bag in the icebox. They were fantastic. I will never buy bagels again. Thank you for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leialohadm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
GREAT recipe! The recipe was very easy to follow and the bagels turned out delicious. The next time I make them, I'll experiment and add poppy seeds, sesame seeds, cheese, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This recipe is amazing!!! Makes about 8 cafe size bagels. Great mixed with sundried tomatoes, dried onions, garlic.... You can create a lot with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Young

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Fantastic recipe! I like to broil them as suggested. I add a dollop of molasses to the water instead of the sugar and them after boiling with sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
WOW! These are as good as store bought! I didn't broil them and they still tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
They were ok. The directions leave something to be desired. These need to go strait from the boiler to the oven. No down time or they shrink. Not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Neiter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mauckport, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
this recipe seemed odd, lots of yeast. plus, NO OIL! never heard of that. thought it was a mistake, tried it anyway. super good. i think omitting oil makes them extra chewy. makes 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Cooper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg

A foolproof method for perfect hard boiled eggs, every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States