Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I followed the broil first for shiny look directions. The only thing I added was during baking, I brushed the tops of each bagel with whipped eggwhites/water every 8 minutes. Not only did they turn out beautiful, they were absolutely delicious!. The big test was 2 days later when I toasted the extras I stored in a plastic bag in the icebox. They were fantastic. I will never buy bagels again. Thank you for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leialohadm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
GREAT recipe! The recipe was very easy to follow and the bagels turned out delicious. The next time I make them, I'll experiment and add poppy seeds, sesame seeds, cheese, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This recipe is amazing!!! Makes about 8 cafe size bagels. Great mixed with sundried tomatoes, dried onions, garlic.... You can create a lot with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Young

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Fantastic recipe! I like to broil them as suggested. I add a dollop of molasses to the water instead of the sugar and them after boiling with sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
WOW! These are as good as store bought! I didn't broil them and they still tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
They were ok. The directions leave something to be desired. These need to go strait from the boiler to the oven. No down time or they shrink. Not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Neiter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mauckport, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
this recipe seemed odd, lots of yeast. plus, NO OIL! never heard of that. thought it was a mistake, tried it anyway. super good. i think omitting oil makes them extra chewy. makes 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Cooper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Delicious! A fun Sunday family activity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Super easy and SO good!! I used 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour and added about 3/4 cup dried cherries. I let them rise for close to an hour - really excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
very good taste, but rather small in size next time will make bigger batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States