Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Dustbunny
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I took the suggestion and added about a tablespoon of Molasses to the boiling water along with the sugar. Once the bagels were boiled I dipped the tops in an everything mixture (sesame seeds, poppy seeds, caraway seeds, freeze dried garlic, onion flakes and sea salt - just a tablespoon of each) This recipe made 13 bagels for me - average size. All I can say is that I loved this recipe and will make it over and over again - probably tweaking ingredients to get different flavors of bagels. I am very eager to try banana nut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustbunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These were relativity easy to make although they did take a long time. I found that they were a little too tough and chewy. Also the sugar salt perportions were a little off and it made them taste a little funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
These came out delicious though the shapes were a bit funny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Yummy! I double the recipe and use 2 cups rice flour, 1 cup wheat germ, 1 cup steel cut oats, and the rest whole wheat flour. I also use rice milk instead of part of the water. Absolutely killer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
flat, 7 minutes seems too long to boil I think it absorbed water and ruined them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sactown_Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Great recipe! I used someone else's suggestion of putting molasses in the water instead of sugar, and the outsides came out crisp and brown. The insides are chewy and tasty. I used a heavy duty baking stone when baking mine. It took around 30-35 minutes just like the recipe said. I also separated the dough into 8 even pieces instead of 12 and the bagels came out the size you would find at a store. Keep in mind that the bagels are going to pretty much double in size both in height and diameter when put into the simmering water so don't worry if they look a little on the small side after proofing. I just may never buy bagels again! I like to get a nice piece of asiago, shred it, and put it on as a topping, The raw ingredients are so much cheaper then paying for bagels. It just takes a little bit of time, but is a very simple recipe to follow. Having made this recipe at least 10 times now, I must add that you will likely need to add more flour when kneading the dough. I usually knead mine in a Kitchenaide mixer and slowly sprinkle in flour till the dough comes together and is firmer because it will be wet and sticky at first which is not what you want...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sactown_Baker

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I am not happy with the way these bagels turned out. I read all of the five-star reviews before I started and followed the directions to a T, with the exception of making 9 bagels instead of 12. The bagels looked beautiful going into the water bath and beautiful coming out. It was about 30 minutes into baking that I realized these weren't going to be the "perfect bagels" I had envisioned. The bottoms were gooey even after 45 minutes in the oven. I flipped them over and baked for another 15 minutes before pulling them out of oven, not wanting to burn them. Though this was my first attempt at homemade bagels, I consider myself an accomplished baker and have never had problems with homemade breads, rolls, pretzels (also boiled), etc. I believe the error in this recipe is in the boiling time. Most other recipes state to boil bagels under 2 minutes total, not seven. I will attempt these bagels one more time, but will decrease the boil time significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
My first attempt at these was great as written. The second time I made them pumpkin spice w/ dried cranberries. I substituted warmed orange juice and 1/2 c. pumpkin puree for the water and used light brown sugar instead of white. The baking time was right on the money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Super delicious! I tried both boiling first and broiling first. Both were good, but different. The broiled variety looked more smooth and uniform, but seem more like regular bread than a bagel. The boiled ones got deliciously crisp on the outside and were chewy in the middle, but didn't look as nice. I'll definitely make again, but stick with the boiling first method. PS I gently kneeded cheddar cheese into mine, and sprinkled with onion flakes and more cheese before browning in the oven. Oh my gosh good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Very authentic texture and taste, makes a smaller size bagel than you're typical baagel shop but I like the smaller portion better anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dgoose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parshall, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg

A foolproof method for perfect hard boiled eggs, every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States