Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I added a little baking soda to the water and didn't boil quite as long, maybe 5 minutes total. Great bagel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
After spending hours in the kitchen following instructions to the letter (digital thermometer to ensure the water was exactly the right temp, bought the yeast last night to ensure it was good, etc.) and after all that work I ended up with heavy doughy messy lumps. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I have made a lot of bread but never bagels. Everything that went wrong was my own fault, one rolled off on its way out of the pot, my stove does not like to simmer and I moved them around on the baking sheet and wiped off some of the cooking spray and those stuck. There was also the pressure of himself going through the fridge to pick out what he was going to put on his bagel... I didn't get any soggy bagels but I put them right in the oven from the pot, didn't wait until they were all done. Will be trying this again and adding garlic and poppy seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Great recipe, we love bagels and we can't get them here in rural Argentina . I made a batch last evening, topped some with dried onion , sesame seeds, dried garlic . They are really yummy toasted or plain, I'll definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Once you make these at home, you will NEVER buy bagels again! These are the real deal - chewy inside, with the baked crust on the outside, ideal for toasting! I've made these about six times, using a stand mixer (not kneading by hand). Here are the modifications needed: 1. Once all flour has been added, you will knead it in the mixer for 5-10 minutes until elastic and shiny on the surface. 2. Cover mixing bowl with plastic wrap and rise for one hour. 3. Start water to boil in the last 10 minutes of rising, then shape each bagel as desired, resting them under a damp cloth. 4. No need to wait 20 min for a second rise, by the time the water is boiling and you've finished shaping (5-10 min), you can start boiling the bagels in batches of 3-4 per pot. 5. TIMING adjustment is critical! Only 1 minute per side - then onto a cookie rack to drain. 5. Once they are all boiled, blot them dry on bottom, transfer to greased cookie sheet. 6. Brush with an egg-white wash and add top with desired add-ons (poppy seeds, garlic powder, salt, etc.). Baking time is 20-25 min as per directions. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly as stated. Bagels turned out flat, kinda like they were squished flat because they just didn't want to puff up. Despite the appearance, they were very tasty! Just like store bought bagels! Tasty but very labour intensive. Worth giving it a try if you have time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Paris, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Very Good!!!! This was my first shot at making homemade bagels and they came out fantastic!! The only downside was when they were all gone and I wanted more!!! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gabs1972
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Excellent recipe!! I have never cooker bagels, this was a first timer for me, but as you can see from the picture, they turned out great! My husband loved them too!!! Just a slight change: 1) I didn't broil them 2) I boiled them for 2 minutes per side 3) Need to cook less than 30-35 minutes, as you can see from pic they came a bit too dark Other thank this, WONDERFUL!!! Thanks for this recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This is my go to bagel recipe, they always turn out wonderful and delicious! I made them again today using half "white whole wheat" flour and they were still great. My tip is to not overcrowd the pot when boiling, if you give them room in there, they turn out bigger and better. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadiebea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Very happy with the results. I used the broiled option and boiled the bagels for only 2 minutes per side. I made 10 larger bagels. I've topped some with sesame seeds and made some cinnamon raisin in addition to the plain. Very good! I anticipate making several other variations in the future. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States