Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Delicious. Made them exactly as stated but did let them rise longer (about an hour). I did make a couple less bagels to make them bigger. Tasted fantastic out of the oven with some butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
The texture was great, but the flavor was very bland. I added sesame seeds on top, but would recommend doing something much more flavorful like onion or garlic. I also highly recommend broiling before boiling. The browned outside was the source of most of the flavor. Also, be sure to make the center hole really large. My holes completely closed in once the bagels rose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is an excellent textbook bagel recipe. Texture is good, steps are easy to follow without any unnecessary ingredients. The flavor is a bit plain for my liking, but after adjusting and adding accordingly to get the taste you like this is a wonderful recipe to keep around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nome, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NommyMommy
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
A great recipe for a bagel novice like me. Subbed mostly bread flour for a chewier bagel, and was not disappointed. Rather than form balls and poke them, I squeezed dough portions into snakes, moistened each end, and pinched together to form each bagel. Also followed other reviewers' advice and made 8 larger bagels, used molasses, not white sugar (as directed), for the boiling step. Baked at 400 degrees F for 10 minutes or so, then lowered the heat to 350 to finish for a darker, golden exterior. Next time (and there will be many!), will press sesame seeds -or other toppings- into dough after boiling (most fell off while slicing, as they were just sprinkled on), and try broiling option. P.S.- One bagel from this first attempt was impregnated with chocolate chips (fully sealed in dough) by the kiddo, and that was delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NommyMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Awesome plain bagel, I added some coarse salt on top before baking. Divided the dough 1/2 and added 1/2 cup raisins and 1 tbsp cinnamon to dough. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Elmvale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was my first attempt at making bagels and they were delicious! I was a little worried about if they had risen enough, but after I broiled for five minutes before boiling, they rose a LOT. With that, (on my first time with this recipe) the shape expanded so much that I lost the whole in the middle. In the end , they still tasted good but the appearance was a bit off. The second time though, I was prepared for this and made the whole way bigger and the whole thing shorter. They look perfect! The only other issue I had was getting them off the pan. I did grease it, but it was still a little difficult. In the end, most of them came off successfully. You can really add anything to these, as I've experimented with. I've done sesame seeds on top before baking, cheese on top, dried cherrie with little cashews and cinammon sugar, cinammon raisin, etc. So don't be afraid to play around with it! I've never had a bad batch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wickedeyes
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
LOVE this bagel recipe. I ONLY use the boiling method when I make my bagels. They always come out chewier and more flavorful. I've done Rosemary bagels, cinnamon raisin, fennel sea salt bagels. I've tested dozens of variations. **For a thicker, and perhaps crisper/chewier bagels I suggest brushing them with egg wash before sticking in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by ChefScharny
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I definitely agree with the other reviewers that this recipes is for 12 small bagels... I didn't listen to them and made 12 and hoped they would rise more but didn't... next time I will try and make bigger bagels and let them rise longer... also when I shape them I will try a technique I found one another recipe where you poke the whole threw and then twirl it... also I want to try making different varieties... the ones I made were whole wheat and tasted very delicious... I put cornmeal on my baking sheets to make them more authentic... I will definitely try again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magpie
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Soo Good! used whole wheat flour and boiled for 2 min on each side...baked 15 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Awesome!! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States