Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I made these yesterday and ate one today,and they were waaaaaayyyy too salty. It was like swallowing ocean water! They also didn't rise and only got slightly bigger when I boiled them, but they still turned out really puny. I think I'll try a different bagel recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krabtart

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salisbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I love this recipe! Today I made my 7th batch and I must say they came out absolutely beautiful! The only change I made was to the boil time. When I boiled my first couple of batches for 7 min they had gooey spots that would not bake out. All other batches I only boiled for about a min. on each side and that has corrected the problem. I have moved on to using whole wheat flour and I am now ready to add flavorings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen B.
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Incredible! I followed the recipe without changing a thing. This was my first attempt at homemade bagels and my family and I are thrilled with the results. It wasn't as labor intensive as I'd expected either. I broiled them after they were finished rising, then boiled them for the 7 minutes and baked them for about 20 minutes. Absolutely Glorious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Delicious. Made them exactly as stated but did let them rise longer (about an hour). I did make a couple less bagels to make them bigger. Tasted fantastic out of the oven with some butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
The texture was great, but the flavor was very bland. I added sesame seeds on top, but would recommend doing something much more flavorful like onion or garlic. I also highly recommend broiling before boiling. The browned outside was the source of most of the flavor. Also, be sure to make the center hole really large. My holes completely closed in once the bagels rose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is an excellent textbook bagel recipe. Texture is good, steps are easy to follow without any unnecessary ingredients. The flavor is a bit plain for my liking, but after adjusting and adding accordingly to get the taste you like this is a wonderful recipe to keep around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nome, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NommyMommy
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
A great recipe for a bagel novice like me. Subbed mostly bread flour for a chewier bagel, and was not disappointed. Rather than form balls and poke them, I squeezed dough portions into snakes, moistened each end, and pinched together to form each bagel. Also followed other reviewers' advice and made 8 larger bagels, used molasses, not white sugar (as directed), for the boiling step. Baked at 400 degrees F for 10 minutes or so, then lowered the heat to 350 to finish for a darker, golden exterior. Next time (and there will be many!), will press sesame seeds -or other toppings- into dough after boiling (most fell off while slicing, as they were just sprinkled on), and try broiling option. P.S.- One bagel from this first attempt was impregnated with chocolate chips (fully sealed in dough) by the kiddo, and that was delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NommyMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Awesome plain bagel, I added some coarse salt on top before baking. Divided the dough 1/2 and added 1/2 cup raisins and 1 tbsp cinnamon to dough. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Elmvale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was my first attempt at making bagels and they were delicious! I was a little worried about if they had risen enough, but after I broiled for five minutes before boiling, they rose a LOT. With that, (on my first time with this recipe) the shape expanded so much that I lost the whole in the middle. In the end , they still tasted good but the appearance was a bit off. The second time though, I was prepared for this and made the whole way bigger and the whole thing shorter. They look perfect! The only other issue I had was getting them off the pan. I did grease it, but it was still a little difficult. In the end, most of them came off successfully. You can really add anything to these, as I've experimented with. I've done sesame seeds on top before baking, cheese on top, dried cherrie with little cashews and cinammon sugar, cinammon raisin, etc. So don't be afraid to play around with it! I've never had a bad batch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wickedeyes
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
LOVE this bagel recipe. I ONLY use the boiling method when I make my bagels. They always come out chewier and more flavorful. I've done Rosemary bagels, cinnamon raisin, fennel sea salt bagels. I've tested dozens of variations. **For a thicker, and perhaps crisper/chewier bagels I suggest brushing them with egg wash before sticking in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States