Boiled & Baked Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I don't normally cook baby back ribs, but I thought I'd give this a try. My wife always boils country ribs before grilling so I looked for a recipe that took this approach. I understand this is sacrilegous to serious BBQ folks. Anyhow, I tried this recipe and substituted Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce for the chili sauce and cayenne pepper for the pepper flakes (because that is what I had). All the rest of the ingredients I had in the house. Instead of baking, I put these on the grill in a vegetable grill basket. About 7 minutes on each side. Turned out excellent. The Chinese 5 spice plus the chili paste gave the ribs a distinct flavor and kick. Loved it as a dinner. I liked the idea that the back ribs were already cut when served. Makes for easy eating. I'd use this as an entrée any day. Would be an awesome appetizer as well. Very creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thomas Heineman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I used different seasonings, but the technique for cooking the ribs worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
These were so good - we didn't have honey, so we used corn syrup. We also didn't have chili paste, so we used Surachi. So tender on the inside, a bit crisp on the outside, and the flavor was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I'm from the south where we know BBQ and where it's a sacrilege to boil ribs. The chef did make a nice disclaimer that this is not intended to replace or compete with traditional BBQ so I'll let it slide. I would never personally use this recipe but I did refer it to my sister who cannot BBQ to save her life and it was a great improvement to all of her previous attempts to BBQ ribs. They were very good and if you are a slow and low purest just think of them as something other than BBQ ribs. Open your mind and shut your mouth and enjoy them for what they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I have never made ribs before but a huge sale at the local grocery prompted me to try. This recipe worked so well that my husband complemented it without me asking "Is everything OK?" I followed the recipe exactly and my family cleaned the ribs to the bone. Thanks for another "go to" in the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
These are fall off the bone tender and delicious. You can eat them straight from the broth you boil them in. The "glaze" (not sauce) is really different for ribs and yummy. Rather than baking I put mine on the BBQ grill 5 mins to a side and got that blackened edges and smoke flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. R.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This is simply delicious! I followed the brine recipe and the flavors in the ribs was a hit with the family. For my glace I used one that I had from before but as he said any glace will work and it certainly did. I will be making this recipe alot in the future. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Green-Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Made this with 10 lbs of ribs for 10 people. Simmered the ribs in the broth for about 1 1/2 hrs., covered the ribs with a good smoky commercial sauce and baked for approx. 30 min. as per the recipe. These ribs actually were falling off the bones and were scrumptious. I also viewed the video before I followed the recipe. I found this helpful as I was not anxious about using a new recipe on unsuspecting friends. I will be using this recipe as my new favourite for ribs. Easy perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Keep em coming Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Falls, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
The best ribs I've ever cooked. I finished mine on the gas grill with smoking hickory chips and they were a hit! Treat youself and try this. Everything by Chef John is just beyond belief good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States