Boiled & Baked Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Made this with 10 lbs of ribs for 10 people. Simmered the ribs in the broth for about 1 1/2 hrs., covered the ribs with a good smoky commercial sauce and baked for approx. 30 min. as per the recipe. These ribs actually were falling off the bones and were scrumptious. I also viewed the video before I followed the recipe. I found this helpful as I was not anxious about using a new recipe on unsuspecting friends. I will be using this recipe as my new favourite for ribs. Easy perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Keep em coming Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Falls, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
The best ribs I've ever cooked. I finished mine on the gas grill with smoking hickory chips and they were a hit! Treat youself and try this. Everything by Chef John is just beyond belief good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
These are really very good. Not tender falling off of the bone, but a very good rib. Have made several times and everyone appreciates them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Adding spice to water great idea however, this is way too sweet for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Great recipe. But, when I clicked the kitchen view for the Boiled and baked ribs, it took me to kitchen view for baked ziti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Love this! I've made this a few times and once or twice had to adapt the ingredient list and yet, the ribs end up tasting great. I think the method, boil then bake works very well. This is my new go-to method first, recipe second, for ribs. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
These ribs were amazing. I made some (un)intentional variations on the fly. I forgot about simmering the broth for 20 minutes before adding the ribs, so as soon as it started boiling I added them. Also, I added only a small amount of salt to the broth. I used the last of my rice vinegar in the broth so i subbed Italian wine vinegar in the glaze. The rest of the ingredients were basically eyeballed, but I almost doubled the glaze to be sure I'd have enough which I'm happy I did. After glazing 3 times in 15/15/5 minute intervals the ribs turned out incredible. Just the right amount of tenderness without falling off the bone. Will make again, thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
worst waist of $20.00 worth of ribs i have ever seen. could not eat them,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a_tillis@stormyhillharley.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe. I wasn't sure how to make Pork Rib Tips that were already pre sliced in the packaging quickly without drying them out. The boiling really sealed in a soft, seasoned texture. The glaze was delicious, my husband raved about it! I lessoned the sugar by the half teaspoon, and didn't have rice vinegar or the 5 spice, or the chili paste! However, I substituted the vinegar with red cooking wine and chili paste with ketchup and chili pepper. I also used some creol spice instead of the chinese spice ( only used about a half of tspn since it has salt in it). I did have to make a little extra sauce (I had bigger rib pieces then what the recipe calls for) to completely cover all my ribs. When I went to glaze again halfway through baking in the oven , I just mixed more in a bowl with the same ingredients for the glaze. Maybe next time I make it I will have all the right ingredients but it still tasted so yummy! Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah245

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States