Bohemian Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
An easy to make, melt-in-your mouth, moist and delicious pork roast. Did make the gravy and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
After years of unsuccessfully trying to duplicate a traditional Bohemian Pork Roast with gravy & dumplings Christmas dinner I had with a family of Bohemian ancestry back in the early 1970's, I stumbled across this recipe. I prepared it this Christmas along with gravy made from the pan juices and Spaetzle. My quest for the perfect Christmas Pork Roast from my past has now been ended. The only change I made to the original recipe was the addition of garlic powder in the rub. It was a huge hit with my family and I thank you so much for helping perfect my Christmas dinner. I will use this recipe for the rest of my life and hopefully pass it on to my children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Recipe for Chech Doumpling 1 slice toasted buttered bread cut into small squares 1 cup flour 1tps. baking powder 1/4 cup milk 1tps. salt 1 egg Mix all ingrediants togeter and make an oblong loaf and let it rise one hour on a bread board under an inverted bowl. Put in a pot of boiling water and boil for ten minutes a side (20 min.total) until done. Cut with a string or knife before serving. Makes 1 eight inch loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: New Hyde Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
I first let the spices "merry" for 24 hours. After browning the roast, I cook it using apple cider beer in the pressure cooker and served it with spatzle and cooked apples. Skim fat and reduce liquid for gravy. It's wonderful and is now my husband's favorite pork roast recipe. Jannette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I grew up in the aforementioned town of Cicero and this recipe is right on the money! A taste of the sadly disappearing Bohemian restaurants found on the Cermak Road of my youth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cicero, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
I cooked my roast in the crockpot and it turned out great. The gravy was also pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I made this for dinner tonight and it was delicious. The cooking time was right on and the roast came out tender and moist. I served it with pieroges, german potato salad, applesauce and green beans. Will definetly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laur laur

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
I followed the recipe except after browning the roast, I removed it from the pan and added the caraway seed with 1/2 cup of water, simmered it down and then wrapped the juice with the roast in tinfoil and put it on the grill for 2 hours. This was the best pork that I have ever eaten. We put some corn on the cob, unshucked on the grill which was a nice meal idea. This winter I will try it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This was excellent. We served it with Potato Dumplings (my oma's recipe); German Green Beans; applesauce; gravy; sauerkraut; and, of course, a good German beer. YUM! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Adding less Caraway seeds and a little dry mustart will change the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States