Bohemian Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I tried this yesterday and basically liked it, but as written it's too dry. I bought Hodson's Mill whole wheat organic mac and cheese and prepared according to package directions. As one reviewer suggested, I sauteed turkey bacon, onion and green pepper while the pasta cooked. When the pasta was done I mixed together: it looked dry so added extra milk and some shredded mild cheddar. Added some whole wheat bread crumbs on top and baked at 350 about 25 mins. It came out dry, though very tasty. If the original poster of this baked it for 45 mins it would taste like cardboard. I will make again, but add even more milk. Baking time seemed right; I'll stick with that. I think it would be 4 stars with more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This was pretty good but I added a head of garlic and sauteed the bell pepper, onion, bacon, and garlic together before adding it to everything else. We found it needed black pepper, next time I would add 1/2 teaspoon before putting it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Although the ingredients list is short, this dish was not as simple as I thought it would be. But it is tasty! I sauteed the bell pepper and onion in the bacon grease before adding to the macaroni and added italian bread crumbs to the top. Makes great leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I made this without the bacon, I thought it was pretty good!! I did use some leftover vleveeta kind of mac and cheese. I didn't follow the amount of veggies just how much I thought looked like enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
pretty tasty..added some shredded cheddar to the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This is not bad, a good use of those pesky boxes of mac and cheese (bf bought them at Costco so we have way too many) but nothing special. I think it needs more seasoning and maybe a few more veggies. To be fair, I didn't have any bell peppers so I left it out, but it's still a lot of pasta to veggies. I'd add more--maybe some peas, more tomato, and more pepper plus those spices. This makes a ton, so be prepared to 1/2 it, feed a lot of people, or have a lot of leftovers. Bf is going to be eating this all weekend . . .Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I have yet to try this with the bacon as we have made this for years with ground beef. I don't even like boxed mac and cheese but love this when it's made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Let me just be the first to say that I cannot stand the cheapo mac and cheese from the box. Considering this, my expectations were really low for this recipe but I decided to make it anyway. I used the pre-cooked bacon and did not add the bell pepper since I knew my kids wouldn't touch it with any 'green' in it. I thought this turned out fantastic. It totally upgraded the mac and cheese. Next time I may use velvetta mac and cheese but not bad at all for boxed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
We thought this was really GREAT! I made as written with the exception of cooking the onions and green pepper slightly before adding to the rest of the ingredients. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy making my homemade mac and cheese, but we also are fans of 'the blue box', and this was a great way to dress it up! I think next time I may add either some shredded cheddar or buttered breadcrumbs to the top before baking, just because. This will definately be made again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Didn't everyone's Mom make this for their children at some point during their childhood? It may not be high-class cooking but it's pure comfort food at it's simplest. I suggest you saute the bell pepper and onion with a little garlic in a bit of the bacon grease and toss that with the cooked macaroni and cheese before adding the milk and butter. Then, throw in whatever cheese you have on hand in the mix and a little on top and you've got a heck of a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States