Boeuf en Croute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
WOW! This was amazing! I was a little concerned about the wine sauce. I felt it need a bit more and it tasted very acidic so I added sugar to it. It still seemed off when I tasted it alone, but when I put it on the meat/croute it was fine. I still have to wonder what else could be done to the sauce as far as making it thicker or adding other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Great dish! I use crescent rolls as opposed to pastry puff for a richer and fluffier crust. I have also substitued white onion for the shallot or left the shallot out altogether and both worked wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmg2479

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I entered this recipe in our local state fair, and won first place in the cooking with beef competition! These tasted FABULOUS! That said, there were a couple of changes I had to make. First, cooking time. After cooking my test-batch 15 minutes in the oven and letting rest for 5-minutes or so, the steaks were blue in the center. Warm but raw. My second batch I cooked for an extra 5 minutes, for a total of 20 minutes in the oven, and after resting for 30-45 minutes (judging takes forever) they were perfect inside. So I recommend a longer cook time. Next, the wine reduction sauce was a little too basic for me, so I added in one cup of beef broth. The resulting sauce (I used a 2009 Ravenswood Zinfandel) complemented the steaks perfectly, and two judges specifically mentioned the sauce was perfect. We already plan on making this again next month for when my in-laws visit. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HongKongCV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I made this last night and followed the exact recipe. I made the wine reduction sauce and added a little flour and milk to thicken it up. It was absolutely delicious. We both cleaned our plates. I served this with mashed potatos which went deliciously and used a cream sherry as the wine. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefKate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
when i made this, it tasted really good and was pretty fast to make, but the bottom of the puff pastry was all soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made this for a dinner party and it was a huge hit. I was suprised how simple, but elegant this dish was to make. The only change I made was to add pine nuts to the mushroom mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Griffin10
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
A very good, easy to follow recipe, and great to make ahead of time! I used a homemade *Puff Pastry* recipe from this site, and skipped the wine sauce (it was part of a big meal already). I loved how you can do it in stages. I stopped after step 2 for about an hour while I cooked something else, and again after step 3 for nearly three hours. Letting the steak sit in the pouches lets them sort of marinate in the mushroom wine juices, which adds real flavor. Finally, don't worry if your beef seems on the small side, once it is topped with mushrooms and wrapped in dough, it is definitely enough to satisfy big appetites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Griffin10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
One of those recipes that will be served again.Very elegant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Rexrode

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moneta, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States