Bodega Bay Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Great recipe for a simple cioppino! Made some substitutions: blended 6 fresh tomatoes rather than using canned tomatoes; added a bottle of clam juice and some chicken broth to give it more of a broth; and left out the bay leaf because I didn't have any. To the base, I added fresh mussles, littleneck clams, squid and shrimp without peel. We ate it all with some French bread - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
It was good but not nearly what I was expecting after reading all the reviews. It tasted like it was missing something. My husband liked it but he likes things more on the bland side, while I like things packed with flavor. Wasn't bad, just wasn't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookingMaMa08
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
It's very easy to make and taste great. I also added half can of chicken brooth for taste. Definitely use fresh uncooked dungeness crab if you can find them in your local market. I steamed the crab before putting it with the tomato sauce. There will be some excellent and flavorful juice from the steamed crab that you can add to the tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMaMa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Foster City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
My husband and I love this recipe. Great with sourdough and white wine. Makes a huge mess, though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Everybody at my house loved it. I'm a vegetarian myself, but got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was great. This is my first makeing Cioppino. And I did not put alot a salt in it I just did a litter..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Wo, first rate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
AWESOME Usually I follow recipes exactly so that I know if I messed up or it's just a lame recipe. Well, this recipe is so savory and delicious I didn't want to change a thing, until yesterday...I was near Bodega Bay on a motorcycle ride and stopped in Stinson Beach and picked up some fresh mussels which I used instead of the scallops and it was unbelievably awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I've never made cioppino before and simply based on the reviews I took the leap and served it for a Christmas party and it was a hit! I didn't put any crab (because we were having crab on the side) but added more shrimp and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
It was my first time making cioppini, and my guests and I loved it. Great receipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States