Bodega Bay Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Made this with some friends for a weekly dinner club. Pricey but an amazing recipe! I cut it down a bit since there were just four of us. Left out the crab to cut down on amount. Cooked it down quite a bit--even built it back up to cook it down some more. The flavor got super concentrated and tasted incredible. I did add a little clam juice as I went along. I also used a couple small cans of spicy V8--that made a HUGE difference! It gave the recipe a nice smooth punch of spicy flavor. As it goes, the recipe is simple--it's a good conversational meal to cook. It's really just mostly monitoring--lots of time for chatting while the flavor takes over the kitchen. Served with crusty bread and the whole lot of us ended up sipping down the broth leftover in our bowls. It was just THAT good. Low fat, easy to make, impressive and the kind of recipe that's good to have under your belt. It's a winner. A great base recipe that allows you to add the touches you prefer. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mavery28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I made this sticking to the recipe and found there was not nearly enough sauce. Second time around I added about a cup of chicken broth with the seafood and that made it much saucier. Make sure to toast plenty of sour dough to go along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by O Side Doughboy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Fabulous! I substituded shrimp for clams (as I had none on hand) and added a stalk of rosemary. BIG HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Outstanding! We just returned from a camping trip to Half Moon Bay CA and bought fresh crab right off the boat at the Princeton pier. My brothers boiled their crab and ate it cold. I made this recipe for my crab. They ended up adding some of their crab to my pot because it was so good. This is definately a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Made for the first time tonight. Served to guests and they loved it. I modified it slightly based on the ingredients I had on hand, in place of crab I used lobster - it was on sale - and littleneck clams, scrod, and shrimp. I think any combination of shellfish works nicely. The sauce was tasty. Many other recipes call for fish stock or clam juice but I didnt have either and it was just fine without. Served with bread and a dessert of fresh fruit. Was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Congers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by posh
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Can't go wrong with all this seafood - yummy! I used mussels instead of clams, omitted crab, used dry italian herbs instead of parsley ( it did have basil in them ) ,added a little tomato juice and totally skipped salt and pepper. Next time I will try to make it as written - I rarely follow recipes exactly;) Beware: there is plenty of salt from tomatoes and seafood ( if you are using frozen ones ), so you might want to add it in the end after trying ready stew first - might be no need for it. Crusty bread is a must with this one as there is plenty of yummy broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Made w all dry ingridients.Made w 4-14 ounces cans off diced tomato,1 bottle of dry wine, 1-lb king crab legs,1-lb large shelled shrimp,24 large neck clams,and 1 loaf of italian bread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juan0404

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
My husband is extremely picky, but he loves seafood. When I started making the dish he said he probably should not look at what I was putting in the pot because he was skeptical. His final opinion, fantastic. I made a couple of changes to the recipe: I added 1 can of chicken broth, 1 can of baby clams w/ their juice, and added some paprika and chili powder. We used snow crab, shrimp, mussels, and the canned clams, but everything else we kept the same. To cut down on mess peel and shell all seafood before putting in the wonderful sauce. Definitely have to have the bread to sop up the juices. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
So delicious and very simple! I would suggest less salt (all it needs is a pinch) and fresh basil leaves instead of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This was really, really yummy! I am not one for switching things up the first time that I try them, and I do not think that I would change anything next time! This was fantastic just as it is. Husband and all 3 kids ate every bite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYTAMALE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States