Bodega Bay Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I liked this dish, my girlfriend, not so much. Came out bland and fishy; it is quite possible that it's my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
We made this recipe for new year's eve and it turned out quite well. We followed the recipe exactly, except we added about a 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes for a little kick. We removed the crab meat from the legs before cooking for ease of eating. This definitely reminded me of the Cioppino I had in San Francisco sans the rock fish, mussels, and calamari. Next time we'll probably add mussels and some sturdy white fish. Excellent and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
best recipe ever! and i don't even like tomato based sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This recipe is easy & fast. I followed the recipe exactly & used the Sutter Home Sauvignon Blanc and it was delicious. Best of all, the wine was only $3.99 and it went so well with the dinner. I served it with a Pasta e Olio. The cioppino was very flavorful so it went very well with the simple pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Very good! A wonderful base for most seafood recipes... serve over rice or with a long pasta. I left out the wine and added fresh, red hot pepper to give it a "fra diavolo" sort of kick. Excellent recipe, Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
YUM! This was good! I served over rice and used the cioppino bag from trader joe's. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I had my parents and my husbands parents over for the first time after we got married and I made this dish. I followed the recipe as is and it was DELIC!!! Everyone loved it! Would definitely make again. Its pricey and takes a while but well worth it! Big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Made this with some friends for a weekly dinner club. Pricey but an amazing recipe! I cut it down a bit since there were just four of us. Left out the crab to cut down on amount. Cooked it down quite a bit--even built it back up to cook it down some more. The flavor got super concentrated and tasted incredible. I did add a little clam juice as I went along. I also used a couple small cans of spicy V8--that made a HUGE difference! It gave the recipe a nice smooth punch of spicy flavor. As it goes, the recipe is simple--it's a good conversational meal to cook. It's really just mostly monitoring--lots of time for chatting while the flavor takes over the kitchen. Served with crusty bread and the whole lot of us ended up sipping down the broth leftover in our bowls. It was just THAT good. Low fat, easy to make, impressive and the kind of recipe that's good to have under your belt. It's a winner. A great base recipe that allows you to add the touches you prefer. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mavery28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I made this sticking to the recipe and found there was not nearly enough sauce. Second time around I added about a cup of chicken broth with the seafood and that made it much saucier. Make sure to toast plenty of sour dough to go along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by O Side Doughboy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States