Bodega Bay Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by rachal28
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
We have never had anything like this. it was amazing. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
A very good, simplified cioppino. Without taking it overboard, I'd sub a cabernet for the white wine, making a nice loose red sauce, and add some clam juice and twice the parsley, as long as its fresh. And obviously, any combo of seafood works. I like to use mussels, large prawns and giant scallops, and I'll top the dish with a grilled swordfish filet (or other firm white fish) and green onions, sometimes with some bits of fried calamari. Over either pasta or rice, makes for a gorgeous presentation and great eats! Also perfect on its own as the fisherman's stew it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I was looking for a recipe that reminded me of the restaurant in Bodega Bay where we had lunch last year. I couldn't believe how close this recipe was to what I was looking for. I substituted muscles for the littleneck clams (because I could not find them) and I added pieces of cod too. I added some red peppers, paprika and a bit of hot sauce to give it a little kick. It was delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KPinck
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I made this recipe tonight for my family. I LOVE Cioppino!!! Growing up on the Mendocino Coast, I ate a lot of fresh seafood. Now that I live a little more inland this dish works well with the not so fresh seafood I get at my local market. I made a few adjustments…. First I used fresh basil instead of dried. Second I am not a huge Scallop fan, so I exchanged them for Cod fillets. And last of all I love a little kick, so I added some crushed red pepper flakes to the stock before adding my seafood. I served it with a Chardonnay, and crusty French bread. This is a great recipe to play with….Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KPinck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tyler
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This was my first time making a Cioppino, though I've had it many times growing up in northern California. Living in rural Maine now, I had to change the crab for fresh lobster. I substituted mussles for the clams and I also put in about 1/4 cup of fresh basil instead of dried and about a tablespoon of fresh thyme, 2 teaspoons of chili powder and a dash of paprika. The Cioppino was great, and I can guarantee that I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Bragg, California, USA
Living In: Ellsworth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
My boyfriend and I made this recipe over the weekend. It was AWESOME!!!! We changed a few things. We used fire roasted garlic diced tomatoes (instead of plain)..1 lb of crawfish (instead of clams)...superb! Will def make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Very good my husband ate 60% of the pot and the sauce he sopped up with some garlic bread I made on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JJsMama
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was excellent! No need to add salt at all. Other than that, I made it exactly as the recipe calls. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
super simple to make, and spectacular results. Recommended for everyone. Even if you live in a place where you cannot get fresh seafood often, do it with frozen seafood! the result will be a little worse but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States