Bodega Bay Cioppino Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by fuzz842
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I have tons of home canned tomatoes and was looking for a new way to use them. I used two quarts instead of the 56 oz the recipe called for. It left plenty of broth for dipping. This was delicious!!...we substituted the seafood our store had and used garlic infused olive oil...but made everything else as is. Served with warm crusty bread and lemon wedges to squeeze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuzz842

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Followed recipe and my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Pretty accurate. I normally buy pre-jarred broth and this recipe would probably need some time in the food processor before adding seafood in order to get the consistency the same. I also had no white wine, but substituted with 1.5 oz of whiskey, and 2 teaspoons of lemon juice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This is excellent! We did add chicken soup for more soup base. We have made this three additional times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Yuen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Great dish! Easier than I thought to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Needs less tomato sauce (about 2/3), and 1-2 tbs. tomato puree to thicken it. Tomato sauce base needs only 15-20 minutes, otherwise will be overcooked. Needs half the onion, and when it is done, 1-2 tbs. olive oil. Any combination of seafood works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hajni Cheek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Martinez, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Wow. Delicious and healthy. The only changes I made was substituting mussels for clams -- they were on sale -- and adding some bell peppers and hot peppers in danger of being forgotten. Rounded it off with a salad of kale an chard and some home made fettucini Alfredo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leo Walsh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachal28
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
We have never had anything like this. it was amazing. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
A very good, simplified cioppino. Without taking it overboard, I'd sub a cabernet for the white wine, making a nice loose red sauce, and add some clam juice and twice the parsley, as long as its fresh. And obviously, any combo of seafood works. I like to use mussels, large prawns and giant scallops, and I'll top the dish with a grilled swordfish filet (or other firm white fish) and green onions, sometimes with some bits of fried calamari. Over either pasta or rice, makes for a gorgeous presentation and great eats! Also perfect on its own as the fisherman's stew it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I was looking for a recipe that reminded me of the restaurant in Bodega Bay where we had lunch last year. I couldn't believe how close this recipe was to what I was looking for. I substituted muscles for the littleneck clams (because I could not find them) and I added pieces of cod too. I added some red peppers, paprika and a bit of hot sauce to give it a little kick. It was delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Cioppino

See how to make a top-rated seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States