Bodacious Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Meg Ekblad
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I made this to go with BBQ ribs and wanted to give it a bit of a southwestern flare, so I added a cup of corn and some cilantro. Since I'm not a big fan of raw onion I sauteed them briefly in a little bit of the bacon fat. The nippy cheddar cheese I used was white. It's not a low cal salad for sure, but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Ekblad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Great recipe! Didn't have red wine vinegar so I used raw Apple cider vinegar. I also replaced a little broccoli for cauliflower and added cashews and dried cranberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
As a pantry chef at a retirement community, I make this salad on a rotation menu. I made it at home because it is that good! Even my three year old loves it, ain't that somethin'? I decided to serve it warm, and since I didn't have any, I left out the red wine vinegar and lemon juice, and omitted the sugar. Still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Too sweet and tangy. Thank goodness for the bacon which help offset it and made it kinda yummy. Edible but i guess just tweak it to your liking. This time around the only change i made was cutting the mayonnaise down a little, i don't like over saturated/ creamy food. Next time I would cut the red vinegar and sugar in half. Definitely better to cut the broccoli smaller everything will get covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
One of our family's most requested side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammie
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Good but will use less pepper and vinegar next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Can't stop eating it. Even my three yr old likes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Love this salad! One of my family's favorites. I like to add grapes and raisins. So delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
My guests raved about this, though I thought it just okay. Maybe my taste buds were off that day. I thought it wasn't creamy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
The only thing I did different was to add golden raisins and sunflower seed. I let it sit in the fridge for 3-4 hours before tasting. My two cents are that there is wayyy too much onion and that it was too salty for my taste. Looking back on the ingredients, it kind of seems obvious that half of a red onion is A LOT unless you're using a really small one. As for the salt, with 8 pieces of bacon I'm not sure if you really need that much salt added to the dressing. I think next time I will limit both ingredients and use about 1/4 cup of onion to start and perhaps skip the salt and pepper in the dressing and just add it after the salad has had a chance to sit for a while according to taste. Hope this helps anyone who reads this review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 951) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States