Bodacious Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
I have made a version of this for years. I thought this one might be a different and delicious change. Not so... This was way too peppery, too much cheese and the red wine vinegar(and the lemon juice) made it almost bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
This recipe is so good, my whole family loved it. My dad wanted me to make more, so he could take it to work the next day. since he is on a diet, i used non-fat plain yogurt instead of mayo and he didnt even know the differnace. using the yogurt instead of the mayo cut out a lot of the fat, and not a lot of the taste. will continue to make this recipe with yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VirginiaLee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Had to review this again since I've made it at least 6 to 8 times this summer. It was fabulous the 1st time I made it and has become a favorite. I don't measure ingredients any longer and I vary them with what I have on hand. Plumped raisins and sunflower seeds make it extra good, but it's great without.It's a wonderful make-ahead dish and left-overs keep nicely. I always double the dressing using Splenda, red wine or cider vinegar, and light mayo.THE BEST! deserves 6 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
I love this salad! I use one head of cauliflower and one head of broccoli and the combination is remarkable. Great for pot-lucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
I used a yellow onion as that is what I had and it worked fine. I think the cheddar cheese is a must. I would recommend chopping the broccoli rather small in order to incorporate the dressing for best flavor. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
The salad was very good and I will definitely make again. I did not use the recommended amount of pepper after reading the other reviews. I used about 1/2 tsp each salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
This was very good. I used a bag of frozen cut broccoli and splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iola, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
It was great! I bought fresh broccoli floweretts at the bulk food store and chopped them. I also substituted Splenda for the sugar to use in our low-carb diet. My husband really loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRADDE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Loved this dish. It's very pretty and easy to build and delicious. Couple of suggestions especially with some of the negative comments from other reviews in mind. 1st, cook the broccoli, it not only tenderizes it, it changes the flavor…I used steamed leftover broccoli and my wife and teen son loved it. You can choose the level of al dente to be satisfied with. Use the red onion but cook it just enough to knock down the “brightness” of the onion flavor. Use a dry, non-stick pan, and just cook it enough to dry it out a bit…don’t cook so much you start to change the color, and let it keep most of it’s crunchy texture. A word about the “bitter” flavor some reviewers ran into. There wasn’t a hint of it in our dish. Is it possible that these folks were using pre-squeezed products? If so, have to recommend against it. Bitterness is most likely from seeds or from product that’s turned in the fridge. But, really, just created the recipe as written…including the sugar, and loved it. Good this next day, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
Easy, tangy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 938) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States