Bodacious Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Absolutely delicious salad - whole family loved it; the only thing I would recommend would be to reduce the amount of red wine vinegar by 1/8th of a cup, and add an equal amount of mayonnaise in. For a variation, I used a garlic havarti in place of old cheddar, and added slivered almonds to the mix - not that the recipe needs changing but just for something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
My husband really loved this salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bethany Giles
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Very good, however, after following the recipe exactly I thought it was too peppery. And I really love pepper too. So I mixed about 1/3 C of more mayo with about 1 T of more lemon juice and 1 T of more red wine vinegar, then added it to the salad and it seemed to help lessen the peppery flavor a bit. Will definitely keep making this recipe, but with only 1/2 the pepper called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Giles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Easy to make because I have the ingredients in my pantry and refrigerator. Added walnuts for crunch. Reminds me of one served at cute soda shop/deli in old town Brenham that we love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa4517
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
The basic ingredients are great but way too much red wine vinegar. Next time I'm only going to use 2 or 3 tablespoons. My first attempt was a double recipe where I only used 1/4 cup red wine vinegar and doubled everything else. To fix this one I had to had 3 more heads of broccoli, more mayo and spices. Tasted great after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This was really good. I served it as a side to Aunt Ro's beans from this site and it was just what the meal needed to keep it crisp and fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
My husband loves his mother's broccoli salad, so I attempted this recipe with the hopes of matching it. I succeeded and exceeded as he said it was better than his mother's recipe! I do recommend that you eat it within two days, because after that the ingredients are too soggy and melded to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
My mom makes a broccoli salad similar to this one.She adds raisins or grapes,sunflower seeds,and honey.She does not add the sugar,pepper,bacon or lemon juice.This is the kind of recipe you can add or remove one or more of the ingredients to fit your personal preference,but I enjoyed this one as it is.By far, hands down, one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 965) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States