Bodacious Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Heather Jordine
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Very good salad. We ate this as our main dinner dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Jordine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
So we're over at the beach and had a LOT of broccoli and was looking for a cold dish to use it with. This one sounded like the Broccoli Salad that I've gotten many times at the deli. I just finished making it and was about to put it in the fridge to cool it before dinner time and my daughter tasted it and loved it. I told her it wasn't ready, since it wasn't cold yet, but she said it was and had to have a bowl now, lol. I only made 2 small changes, only used 1 tsp of pepper(2 seemed like a lot) and I used 2 cups of mild cheddar(what I had on hand). I added more cheddar since its not as strong as the sharp cheddar the recipe called for. To say the least it's a hit and I haven't even served it to the family yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Photo by Ali J
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Used apple cidar vinegar instead of red wine. Make the night before too, tastes sooo much better after it chills overnight. Great summer BBQ salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I feel like it was missing something. There was too much pepper and not enough sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbarwick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Love this recipe!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This is a great recipe. I can't imagine it with 2 teaspoons of pepper though - a dash is plenty. And for me the cheese and bacon make it quite salty enough. I don't add any at all. Make it well ahead of time but add the bacon at the last minute or serve it in a separate bowl so it stays crisp .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Love this salad. Instead of regular bacon I use 'fake bacon' by morningstar, it cuts the fat. Also for one member of the family, I get a small bag of chopped walnuts and mix it in, they like the nutty flavor. Almonds,pecans add a nice flavor, sesame doesn't add any flavor at all, but does add some protein. I tried once with a yellow onion, was too much, but the red works perfectly. Next batch I'm going to try yogurt instead of Mayo, and lower fat cheese, maybe add some bow tie pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Loved it. At a reviewer's suggestion, I sautéd the onion in a bit of the bacon fat for about 1 minute just to pull out the flavours. Be careful with the red wine vinegar. Add a little less then taste. I also added 1/2 cup of grapes and a 1/4 cup of each sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds for a little added crunch. I'm eating the leftovers as I type It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Tasty, and I feel virtuous for getting fresh broccoli into my family! Next time I'll use less vinegar and mayo; they overpowered the freshness of the broccoli and the satisfying muskiness of the bacon (I used turkey bacon). I recommend a little less vinegar, a little less sugar, yogurt instead of mayo (or half of both), more lemon juice. I love salt but didn't feel that it needed any; maybe it depends on saltiness of your cheese and bacon. Also, I chopped the broccoli pretty small and used plenty of red onion. Mine didn't look remotely as pretty as the video...in the video it looks like there's hardly any dressing whereas mine was coated in it (again, the too much mayo thing). Hope this helps! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Easy and do tasty!. No changes to the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 929) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States