Bodacious Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I soaked the chopped red onion in water for about 20 mins while chopping the broccoli and followed the rest as directed (except used a sqeeze-lemon instead of fresh). Let it sit in the fridge for 2-3 hours. Oh, used bacon bits instead of frying bacon. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I have made this recipe several times. Today I made it with broccoli and cauliflower...excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made this for a Christmas family gathering and it was a big hit! I almost didn't any. Very small portions if you want it to serve 12. Next time I will use at least 3 Broccoli crowns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This salad is addictive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I made this salad for a potluck and got several compliments on it. The only change I made was to omit the bacon since I (and many others at the party) am vegetarian (and to decrease the pepper as several others had suggested in their reviews). I substituted some sunflower seeds to add a little saltiness and crunchiness that the bacon would have provided. I wished that there had been a little bit more of the dressing and might make a little extra next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I didn't like the dressing. It tasted like yogurt to me. I'll try it again with cole slaw dressing and beef bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Hit the Spot Yummy! Changed fresh onions to French fried onions, because my family does not prefer the sharp bite of the fresh onions. Had to add a bit more mayo to mellow out the sharp tang of the vinegar. Two easy changes and everyone was digging in for seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Great version of Broccoli Salad! I made this as it seemed less sweet than other versions and it was really great. The only substitute was that I used real bacon bits as opposed to cooking bacon strips. I used about 5 Tbsp's of real bacon bits and this worked well. The red onion and red wine vinegar cut the sweetness of the sugar. I served this to someone who had never like broccoli salad for many years and they actually changed their mind about this version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tannis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Not good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This was so delicious, we brought it to a family get together and it was a hit, everybody went back for seconds. I did switch it up a little. I left out the bacon, used Vegenaise mayo, added sunflower seeds and golden raisins. So tasty! I can't wait until I make it again and it is very easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 971) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States